help exchange   Host 4751
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Keysville
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 60 (150 Acres)
Persons: Up to 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 4751
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 29, 2017

Ideal Helper:
Someone who is willing to jump in and help and put their best foot forward. If you have experience in some of things listed below then great, if you don't we will be happy to give you some! We have quite a few animals so someone who likes being around them is a must.
We can take one person at a time, or two people if they don't mind staying in the same room.

Length of stay:
Shorter terms work best for us, around two weeks is ideal.

About Us:
We are a family of six, but only four are living at home. Ed is a Carpenter and works for a nearby University (Longwood University, Farmville Virginia.) Rachael is a Veterinarian and owns a small animal hospital (we see companion animals) on the farm. Morgan (31) lives about an hour away and works for a local building contractor. Matt (27) lives thirty minutes away and works as a project engineer for a contract company. Maya (21) is at home now for the semester but lives in New York where she is attending Parsons School of Design. Leah (17) is still at home working on all her projects. Morgan, Matt, Maya and Leah were all homeschooled, we are not religious, we enjoy meeting new people and are interested in different cultures and ways of life, and we like to work hard.

We have some beautiful woods on property with some hiking trails. We have an extensive library which is open to anyone who is interested. We have a small pottery studio with a kiln if you are interested in trying that out. We have a pool table and love to play a game every now and then. We have a large in ground pool, which we could use help with maintenance during the summer. We have satellite internet access if you wanted to bring your laptop. We are about ten minutes outside a small town (Keysville) and about thirty minutes away from Farmville.

About our Farm:
We live in a rural part of Virginia. We live 70 miles southwest of Richmond and 70 mile southeast of Lynchburg. We have lived here for twenty five years and own 150 acres. We are very interested in doing more with our land as far as planting, solar, etc.

Hours and Work:
We will not set a number of hours to work because it varies day to day and we are not that rigid. You will be considered one of the family and therefore we will think of you as working with us instead of for us.


- Collecting and Stacking Firewood - We have an outdoor woodstove that heats all our hot water which needs wood all year round and we also have a small fireplace in the house that is in use during the winter.
- Daily chores with the animals which includes feeding, cleaning, etc.
- Simplicity Animal Hospital

- Small House Renovation, working in upstairs bathroom, putting on trim and fixing leaks on the roof.

- Gardens, fencing, weeding, mulching planting and transplanting in the garden and in the greenhouse.

I am trying to be very organized so we are the most productive when you are here, so I usually have a particular project in mind from the above list so it won't be doing everything I have put down but something within those ideas.

Housing and Food:
We have two houses the main house and the little house which is currently being used for storage and Ed's workshop. Our goal is to renovate the little house into an apartment for guests and future helpers. This is one thing we could use someone's help and ideas with. For the time being you would stay in the main house with us! You would have your own room and we all share the two bathrooms.

The kitchen is always open to you.
We have a washer and dryer and clothes line so if you don't mind including your clothes in with the rest of the house holds.

Airport and Train Pickup:
We are about an hour and a half away from Richmond International Airport (RID) and two and half hours from Raleigh Durham Airport (North Carolina) we would be happy to pick you up at the airport if needed. Also Amtrak (Train) has a station in Richmond and Lynchburg that we could pick you up at.

We have a lot to offer and in turn also have a lot to learn!

If you are interested or would like further information the best way to get in touch with us is through our eldest daughter, Maya via our helpx email address and phone number shown above.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use