Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 47635
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

El Borge
All Year: No
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 47635
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 8, 2017

Help required from Sunday 14th May until Saturday 20th May (7 days)

At the moment, there are a lot of dry weeds that need hand weeding around the house area. Once this is completed, there will be weeds to be strimmed out down on the land.

There may be a little painting to do also.

Possibly gravel spreading (a lot of it), if I can find a local supplier for bulk delivery.

Strimming out entails walking about on the VERY steep hillsides in the hot sun and using a petrol strimmer in preparation for when we begin the almond and olive harvests, later in the year. It is not for the weak or faint hearted. This is hard / physical work.

We live in the foothills of the mountains and the ground is steep, stoney and loose underfoot. You will need stout shoes with good (grippy) tread, a pair of good overalls (coveralls or old clothes (not shorts)) and a good hat (for the sun and to keep the trees from hitting your head too hard as you walk about beneath them).

We have 4 dogs and three cats, so you MUST be an animal lover. Please do not apply if you have no patience for animals.

We are both ex-smokers, so any volunteer must be a non smoker, I'm afraid.

We would expect 5 hrs per day, 5 days per week, which may not be mid week days or consecutive days.

Volunteers should bring a hat for protection against the sun and the trees (when working with them) and also shoes that are stout and grippy for the land (it's steep and stony) and for walking (if you want to walk).

You will have your own room in the main house, with en suite bathroom. We would expect you to keep this area clean and tidy yourself.
This is a no smoking zone.
Simple (but nutritious) meals will be provided with us when we dine.
There is a swimming pool that will be available, when the weather and temperatures allow.

If you bring non marking trainers we can play padel tennis, perhaps?

There is a bus service into Velez-Malaga, Malaga city and the coast. We are 5 kms from the nearest village. The bus stop is one km up the track from the house and you would need to check the timetables.
It is possible to walk into the village and back across country from the house, if you would like.
We travel into Torre del Mar and some of the local villages from time to time and you would be welcome to come with us.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use