Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 47677
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 47677
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 13, 2018


WE, Roman (a sustainable design engineer) Jana (full-time mum) and our daughters Lada 5 yrs old & Zlata 2 yrs old, live what we preach. In the past we transformed an inner city rented property into a productive food source and lived sustainably in complete happiness. You could see and hear us on the ABC TV's Gardening Australia, Bris 31 TV's Blooming in Brisbane, radio interviews, newspapers, magazines or presentations, workshops and conferences. Our family passionately share our knowledge, experience, ideas and inventions. Our sustainable living story and working towards self-sufficiency (growing food, making home produce, up-cycling materials, using urban environment to our benefit) make us less reliant on the society. We created SpurTopia – A Small Kingdom of Happiness

We recently bought a property (a double story house with a swimming pool on 4500 m2 of land) in Fernvale, which we are converting into a sustainable paradise (establishing organic garden and orchard) according to permaculture principles and renovating the house to achieve a green credentials.

Fernvale is a small town with surrounding picturesque rolling hills. At Sunday markets you can buy local produce, while at the local Fernvale Old Bakery Australia’s best pies. Nearby, about 5 min drive is a Savages crossing (Brisbane River) which provides a great swimming opportunity. About 10 min drive is Lake Wivenhoe – great for water sports and fishing. It is about 20 minute drive to Ipswich and 45 minute drive to Brisbane.

We invite singles or couples to come and stay with us in order to help with cleaning, cooking, house renovation, establishing and maintaining garden and looking after kids. In exchange you will learn skills of sustainable self-sufficient living (permaculture principles, growing organic food, solar cooking, raw food and fermentation, beekeeping, up-cycling materials and handy man skills). You will have your own room and use of the house and eat with us mostly fresh raw organic food. We can pick you up or give a lift by a car if needed.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Roman & Jana & Lada & Zlata

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use