Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 47689
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2 to 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47689
Region: Marlborough

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 3, 2018

We are in the outer Pelorus sounds, boat access only, 2 1/2 hours from Elaine bay(French pass road, turn off at Rai valley)
We eat a lot of seafood and locally caught wild game and try to grow most of our own veges. There is limited phone coverage, and we use solar power. Love of the remote quiet life is essential. We are not fully organic as Wakatahuri has been and to a limited extent still is a boat building bay with a working slip way.
The permanent residents in the bay are:
Gavin (4th generation owner of the land), fisherman and boat builder, tabletennis player and the boss
Natalie, chief cook and bottle washer, gardener and worker organiser and vague cleaner
Ruby the dog, wild goat and cattle chaser, food hoover
Boing the goat (who thinks he's a people/dog), weedeater
4 chickens Gertrude, gertrude, henrietta, harriet,Smurfette the lamb and curious Georgia the seagull

Who we are looking for:
People who are fit energetic and love the sea, and who can handle remoteness and our clutter.
Most of our work is fairly physical - Scrub cutting, fencing, digging, fire wood, tree planting and there are some lighter work like wood borer treating timber, weeding, painting and general maintenance work. My current projects are: Firewood, more firewood! And beach erosion repairs.

Sorry but at the moment we can not cater for vegetarians or other special dietary requirements.
We expect 4 hours work in return for a bed (small rustic self contained cottage or double rooms in the comfy outside sleepout), 5 meals a day (breakfast, lunch, dinner, morning (if your up early enough) and afternoon tea),the odd glass of homebrew beer and the use of our recreational gear - sea kayaks, canoes, dingies, fishing gear. We have little blue penguins in the bay and great places to walk. Minimum stay needs to be at least 7 days as its a 5 hour round trip to Elaine bay. The Havelock mailboat on its Tuesday/Friday round is also a transport option and is $50

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use