Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 47710
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 47710
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 22, 2016

*********** Looking for carpentry, building and forestry helpers in Scotland for a week in 2016 ************


We are looking for 1 or 2 physically strong people to help thin-out our 14 acre area of woodland in Scotland.

We’d also like to build a storage hut for the woods. The woods are about a 40 minute drive from our home but a hut could be built in stages back at our house in Aberfeldy and taken up ‘flat pack’ style so if you have experience in carpentry and building we’d love to hear from you. We have made a similar hut before so we can work with you and show you how it's done if it's not something you are familiar with.

We’d really appreciate it if you have a spare week to help with the heavy lifting and carrying - experience with using a chainsaw would be a great bonus too if you have it.

When we are not up at the forest, the tasks available at our house would be general maintenance outside: painting, putting up fences, log splitting and stacking, grass cutting, etc.

We will provide good quality tools/materials/safety gear so the jobs are as straight forward as possible!

Anyone with experience maintaining an old vintage Landrover would be very welcome too.

We are a family of four and we work from home so there is always someone around.

We offer to host for a week at a time - sorry we can’t host for longer spells as we often have family and friends staying with us so need the space for them regularly too.

However, there are other Helpx hosts nearby so you may be able to stay in the area longer if it suits you.

We are flexible about which weeks we have available so just get in touch and let us know which week you are free.

We stay in a beautiful part of Scotland an hour and a half north of Edinburgh. Nearby there are castles, a reconstructed crannog in a loch and mountains such as Schiehallion and Ben Lawers.

There are also opportunities for canoeing, cycling and archery - we can lend you canoes/bikes/bows. We live right by the River Tay on the outskirts of the small town of Aberfeldy which has a cinema, swimming pool, cafes, restaurants, various shops, a whisky distillery and the Birks waterfall walk.

We know the area well and can point you in the direction of all the best things to see and do in your spare time.

We can be reached by public transport and we are just a 10 minute walk outside the town so, although it is in the country, it is on the main road and not isolated.

Ideally we are looking for helpers who have a good level of fitness and energy and are practical, calm, cheerful, positive, friendly, careful, respectful and reliable - we will try to be likewise! A good level of spoken English would be helpful too.

Helpers can stay in our self-contained cabin in the garden with wifi, a comfortable bed, hot shower, toilet, small kitchen area with sink, kettle, electric hotplate and bbq area on the decking over looking the river with a wood burning stove to cook on in good weather. At the right time of year our chickens may provide fresh eggs.

In exchange for accommodation, food and use of the facilities, we ask that you put in an average of 4 or 5 hours a day, 5 days out of 7. We require good references, proof of id and address and a current photo of yourself.

We are looking for non-smokers like ourselves and those who are not big drinkers and sorry, we can’t accommodate any pets with you. We prefer meat eaters if you want to join in meals with us. Happy to have vegetarians if you want to do self-catering.

If this appeals to you, then please get in touch by email.


(Please do not use phone to contact us initially as it is our work line).

We will only respond to non-generic requests so please make it clear you have read this when you enquire, thank you. We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use