Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 48083
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Spring to autumn
Area (ha): 12
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48083
Region: North Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 7, 2016

Hi! We are a family of five (mum a photographer from Sweden, dad a builder from New Zealand and three kids 9, 13 & 14) living on a 12 acre lifestyle block in Matakana. We are not 100% organic but try to be as much as possible, we do spray gorse thou. We run a small flock of sheep, have three goats, chickens, ducks, bees and a horse (Spero, a re-homed TB who needs a lot of TLC). We also have two dogs (Ya-Ya & Yoda) a cat (Ewoki) and a rabbit (Pebbles). We need help with landscaping around the pool area and plant trees round our fence line. Our veggie garden is due for a re-wamp (read weed has taken over!) and plans to plant a berry garden and more fruit trees is on the agenda. So there is quite a lot to do over here and fairly labour intense so we need people who's not afraid of working hard. We like to eat fairly healthy and bake our own bread and brew kombucha every week. Ig you can help with cooking some days it would be great too. On our down time we swim in the pool and warm ourself in the SPA if its cold in the water (very refreshing) play tennis on our tennis court or play pool under the pergola. We also have a lake where we paddle board. Matakana and surrounds is an amazing area to explore with vineyards, markets and beaches a plenty. There is also a fair share of beautiful walking tracks and historic places to explore. You will need to have your own transport sorted since there is only one bus here and it doesn't operate very often. We have never had helpers coming to stay before but since itís always something to do on a lifestyle block we are looking for people happy to help out 4-6 hours/day. Hopefully you might learn something new and so might we. Looking forward to it :)

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use