Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 48277
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48277
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 26, 2016

I'm 35 year old easy going guy that wouldn't mind some help sometimes :)
I live on a remote peninsula in Scotish Highlands.
The peninsula is accessible by boat or one can walk in along the shore (8 miles)
There's some spectacular mountains around if you feel like climbing.
Population is around 80 people- mainly old hippies that ran away from civilization in the 60's . People obtain their electricity from windmills locally made and solar panels. No shop or a pub on the peninsula.
Soon the place that I'm renting now will be sold and I will find myself in an urgent need to build some sort of a dwelling to be able to stay on this beautiful peninsula for a couple more years. I'm thinking about building it from pallets and from any random materials that will be at hand- very nice open project for people with some basic joinery skills. Pallets need to be obtained from the local town and ferried across the loch on a small boat. I would also would also need some help with putting up the windmill that I recently made.
Accommodation is in an extention of the house I'm staying in, with a toilet next door and some amount of electricity available.
There's also internet connection in the house.
No bathroom, though- there's a big barrel cut in half that serves as a portable bath tub, and a solar shower, that can be used on a sunny day.
Can host 1 or 2 people- a couple or one or two strong blokes.
A drum kit, piano, guitars and other instruments are here, if you'd like to play them.
I would need a help at the beginning of August for maybe 2 weeks or longer, if you liked the place.
It's possible I could pick you up from Inverness which is 75 miles away from where I live, but can't guarantee it( subject to weather conditions, that may stand in the way of getting with a boat across the loch). As an alternative, there's an infrequent bus service going from Inverness to Badcaul (Westerbus).
Drop me a line if you have any questions.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use