Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 48361
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St Columb, Cornwall
All Year: June - October
Area (ha): 1.6
Persons: Up to 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48361
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2016

We have lived at this property for five years and are trying to create a more self-sufficient small holding on our four acres. We have some mature fruit gardens and have planted an additional small orchard and forest garden. We have also planted a 'tree field', with willows and other trees for firewood - our house is heated using wood and solar - and mixed wood avenues which will make secluded areas in the future. We also have vegetable gardens, a polytunnel, bee hives and chickens. We have recently built a straw bale cottage for additional family accommodation, using rammed tyre foundations. We also have plans to build a log store and a yoga room.

We focus on establishing perennial, forest type gardens and using organic practices. There are many maintenance tasks around the property and in the gardens, which is why we require help from volunteers! We ask volunteers to work five days a week and to do five-six hours work per day - this is divided between hard and light physical tasks. Most of the work is in the garden, so prior knowledge of (organic) gardening or a willingness to learn is welcomed in our volunteers.

We have both travelled fairly extensively and are comfortable with all tastes, diets and cultures. We enjoy meeting and spending time with our volunteers and make every effort for your stay to be enjoyable. We live very close to beautiful beaches and moorland, so there are many places of interest to visit during time off, although there is little in the immediate vicinity. Bus stops are close to the house - around five minutes walk - but the nearest shop is at least a thirty minute walk. Accommodation is provided in caravans close to the house, and volunteers are invited to use the house as a communal area. We pride ourselves on providing excellent standards of food and we eat together most days, although there may be some occasions when volunteers are left a meal.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use