Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4838
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Whangarei
All Year:
Area (ha): 7 elevated native bush
Persons: 1-2
Category: Other
Host ID: 4838
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 7, 2018

Update May 08,2018. Really appreciate all the wonderful Helpx-ers who have stayed with us in the past - Thank you! Keith and Susi. Please note my cell phone sound system currently needs repairing so texting only or l.line calls please.

Our Premier Host status expired in February - just Updated!

Have been too busy these past few months to update! Normally glad of help for one week or so in exchange for a home away from home (hopefully!) for our Helpx-ers. Time may be extended if you like us! Accommodation and food provided. Willingness to help with food prep /cooking if needed is helpful. We are Sabbath observers so no-one works here Saturday. Work times negotiable to suit helpx-er activities.
-----------------------------------------------

Chainsaw/woodchopping is the current priority, however painting ability/outside work, gardening help always much appreciated. (Garden in urgent need of help - depends on weather of course!)

Situated on the beautiful scenic drive between Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei Heads, our Mt Tiger property "Ein Gedi" with amazing birdlife (listen at night for kiwi)and small but charming cottage home overlooks native bush and forested land with views out to a man-made lake and the coast. Bush walks, rock climbing, ocean/surf and harbour beaches, Whangarei CBD, airport,Golf-course, and other amenities all within 10-20 minutes drive.

Firewood - chopping and splitting - a year round task. Our Family To Do list includes a variety of tasks and repairs, preparation and painting. (i.e. Roulotte completed last summer needs painting) Help preparing and planting vegetable garden, tidying bush section, etc. We co-operate together as health allows. Household chores are generally shared, but anyone working outside is not expected to help with the dishes! General Helpx arrangement = 4 hours work daily in exchange accommodation and food but we are flexible. i.e.Some Helpxers prefer 1 full day work then 1 day off. Saturday is always a rest day.

Helpers who are happy to be part of our family are welcome. 3 options for accommodation at present 1/ a small bedroom in the house. 2/ a cabin apart from house, or 3/ comfortable caravan. (May be used for privacy when desired if staying in the house). Our small cottage is open house for everyone to share and evening meals are usually taken together. Helpxers who enjoy cooking are welcome to make a meal or two :) A "help yourself" breakfast and lunch - from simple but plentiful provisions. Mainly tea drinkers we also offer a wide variety of herbal and fruit teas/tissanes. Limited "Real Coffee" in our budget. Fruit juice/ wine - Helpxers will need to provide your own supply :)

WiFi reasonable use for emails/Skype your family etc :) Extensive dvd/film library. Acoustic guitar available to use. Our local GYM allows casual visitors at $10 per session. We are happy to help with improving English, and we may learn a little of your language!

While Helpx-ers with own transport have an advantage (currently we have only one vehicle and a very busy schedule, so sightseeing for us is limited at the present time) - we can meet your bus in Whangarei or collect you from Whangarei Airport.


Here is a little info about us - Keith,a retired British aerospace physicist who had a second career as a teacher of mathematics and science, is a very active man who enjoys the outdoors, walking between 4-10 kms most mornings. Among his many interests he always has a project - scientific, electrical or improving the property here. Susi has travelled extensively,involved in business and the International Thoroughbred Horse Industry. Interests include interior and garden design, writing and editing.

We are both very "people oriented" and active in our community.This includes mentoring and counselling people with mental health issues, relationship problems.etc. Sometimes such people come to stay for a few days rest and we have confidence they will go home happier and refreshed. Bible believing, Keith and Susi endeavour to live "The joy filled life" but we do not force our beliefs on anyone. Please note: our property EIN GEDI is a No smoking Zone. Currently we are a family of 3 adults and open house for visitors.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use