Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 48449
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: From July 2016
Area (ha): 65
Persons: 3-4
Category: Other
Host ID: 48449
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 23, 2018

We are building a rammed earth house using natural building techniques and developing our permaculture garden. The house is off grid in beautiful bushland and our electricity is produced from our solar panels. Our filtered drinking water is collected off the roof and other water is pumped from the river. We are inland, at the north of the Sunshine Coast, just one hour from Gympie and an easy bus ride from Caboolture (near Brisbane). The bus costs $47.
We need volunteers to help us with carpentry, cabinetry, tiling and flooring. We will work alongside you. The gardening is helping to establish a food forest plus weeding, planting and picking vegetables. We have also started some new projects such as making a kitchen for the volunteers from cordwood with a bottle wall too, an earth oven, a chicken house and creating a food forest. We have recently got 2 bee hives and have our first honey! We eat home cooked meals every day using our own organic vegetables (when possible) and basic camping with shower and toilet at our house building site. You can use our tents and sleeping bags if you have none.
There is a large river on the property which is great for swimming and kayaking. We have 2 kayaks. There is a new cycle track at the bottom of the drive which connects us to the region (Brisbane Valley Rail Trail). We are 6 km from the nearest town on a dirt road, in the heart of the South Burnett region of Queensland. Here there is an art gallery and 2 museums. Sometimes in the evenings we watch projected movies on a big screen. There is phone coverage for Telstra and Optus. Previous volunteers have spent days off swimming, kayaking, cycling and relaxing and at our town house for free wifi and washing clothes or have come to Kingaroy for the day. We have organised trips to our local dams and National Parks and taken our volunteers to community and family events.
Stuart, from Zimbabwe, works part time in irrigation and Miranda, from England, is a teacher. We have been in Australia for 13 years. One daughter is at uni and the other helps us when possible.
We have travelled around Africa, Europe, India and hitch-hiked around South and Central America.
We have made great progress with our volunteers and are ready to put doors and windows in our first house.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use