Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 48479
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no
Area (ha): 146
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48479
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 26, 2016

We are a family-run dairy farm, about 20 minutes from the town of Oamaru. We are looking for someone to help us out over our busy calving season, which is between late July and mid to late Septmember. During that time, 500 cows will calve, which means 500 new babies to look after.
Duties will definatly include helping to look after our human 'babies' too, Quinn who is 7 and Greer who is 4, but also some farm work including feeding and looking after calves and gathering in new calves from the paddock etc. Accomodation is in a self contained 3 bedroom house, with your own room but a shared bathroom. It is likely you will be sharing the house with another seasonal helper. We hope you will be part of our family while you are here, so breakfast will be in with the family, as well as at least dinner once a week.
Hours per week: 20 hours/week (5.30 am - 9.30am Monday to Friday ) in return for board and food. Further hours may be available at an hourly rate but not guaranteed.

Job description:
• Help with children in morning, assist them with getting ready for school, getting breakfast, helping with homework etc.
• Keeping house tidy.
• Basic housekeeping jobs such as vacuuming, laundry, cleaning floors, and possibly baking or cooking basic meals. We love learning about other people’s food and culture so maybe you have a great recipe from home to try out?
• Gardening.
• Other farm jobs such as milking cows, bringing cows in for milking and assisting with calf rearing.
• Operate quad bike and two wheeler motorbike after sufficient training.
• Weed control.

Skills and attributes:
• Punctual, clean and tidy work habits
• Fit and able enough to carry out jobs.
• Good standard of English
• Able to follow procedures
• Understand and have experienced some farm life!
• Enjoy spending time with children and animals.
• Energetic, fun and enthusiastic.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use