Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 48576
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Weather permitting...! ;)
Area (ha): 0.8
Persons: up to 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48576
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 2, 2018

Availability: Mid-March through to Mid-September. 1-4 people, one to two week stay.
Location: Huntly, Aberdeenshire
Exchange: accommodation and food for 6 hours a day help.

We also potentially have space for a person or couple to stay here on a longer term basis, and house/animal sit sometimes. We would be looking for a hand to get firewood in, prep the garden for the spring, build some sheds and move some hardcore. We would like 8 hours of help a week in exchange for accommodation in a cosy hi-top retired campervan with it's own woodburner and kitchen. You would need to buy your own calor gas for cooking, and help to collect firewood. We will feed you on days you help us, so you can help us more hours if you like and we will feed you your meals, and you could help yourself to veg from the garden as long as you get involved with looking after it. If you have your own vehicle there is also park-up here for a camper or small horse-box. There is 4g internet and the potential to charge up a battery for use with a generator if you buy in your own petrol. (We have a solar system but it doesn't put out enough to charge laptops through the winter.)

Hello dear travellers,

We are nomadic people that have got a bit of land and are in the process of creating an off grid paradise. We started with an empty field and a derelict building and we have survived five winters here in the delightful climate of north-east Scotland. The sun hardly sets in summer but days are very short and cold in winter! So facilities here are still fairly basic because we started with nothing at all. We have a wheelchair friendly compost toilet and a shower room with water heated on a gas burner. Everything we've built has been done ourselves with gifted or scavenged materials. We get our water from the spring further up the hill, it is VERY good. We are working on a sauna that is almost finished, new burner and cladding going in soon - we may need a bit of help to do a firewood run while you are here so we can get it lit! ;) We will feed you well and look after you as best we can, be aware that WE ARE MEAT EATERS and that is what we will be cooking! We have just got our first polytunnel completed and have a bit of veg growing in the garden. We are working on building raised beds for all our veg and hope to have an abundance of edibles growing this summer. We need help with building sheds, laying paths, moving some stuff around, gardening/weeding, maybe some picking and pointing if you are keen on stonework. So you need to be practical but no specific skills are necessary. We both have health issues which means we have to pace ourselves and be careful with how we work. We don't do more than a couple of hours heavy manual work at a time and we try to look after ourselves and take it easy. All our tools are handled to avoid bad backs and excess strain! If you are interested we can teach you blacksmithing, some herbal medicine and foraging, holistic bodywork, how to recondition and look after old tools... We have a young welsh cob and a pair of shetlands, and would love to hear from anyone with experience of working horses. We also have a very wonderful inuit cross Labrador, a retired springer spaniel, a few cats, some sheep and some chickens.
We don't have any kids. We like them to visit sometimes but we like our mornings to ourselves just now more! ;)
We have a campervan with stove and double bed which can sleep one or two that may be available, otherwise you'll be in a bell tent or maybe yurt. We have lots of spare blankets if needed and we can put a burner in the bell tent if its cold at night.
So any questions please ask! And please check our website for lots more photos.
Hope to meet you soon,
Love from the anarcho-crofters of Aberdeenshire... ;)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use