Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 48598
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.4
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48598
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 5, 2016

We are Stanislav and Diana, a family with two kids, ages 2 and 4, and we hope to find like-minded families and individuals to join us in co-creating a community of environmentally conscious people who walk gently on Earth and take ownership of our lives, health, education and the planet's wellbeing, who have fun together, who share food, work, learning, resources and life's bounties to the level each one feels appropriate.

We are based in Bulgaria, an hour South-West of the capital Sofia, in a 'neighborhood' of a village with a lot of abandoned houses, suitable for purchasing and populating to form a community within the same physical area. The nearest train station to us is Batanovtsi. The nearest big town is Radomir (both are about 10-15km away).

We are in the middle of renovating the house we bought with natural materials and setting up all kinds of things in the yard of 4000 m2: organic gardens, a deck, grapevine structures, a natural swimming pool, a wooden playground, a graywater system (constructed wetland), compost toilets, composters, photovoltaic and thermal systems, a clay oven, an outdoor kitchen, etc. The list is big and will take many years to do, so there is an opportunity for volunteers to get started on whatever is most in resonance with their own interests.

There is a room in the first floor of our house with two beds (single and double) available. There is also the house next door which is for sale and we can rent it cheaply if anyone wants to have more privacy. There is lots of room for camping as well. There is a hot shower and wi-fi.

We would prefer to have non-smokers, but smokers are also welcome if they smoke outside the yard and throw their stubs in the bin.
We need help with all of the above projects plus we can have a roster for cooking and dishwashing duty. We enjoy eating good healthy vegetarian food and we like Ayurvedic cooking.

It is really hard for us to keep tidy, as our kids make a big mess, so we want people who leave no trace after themselves. We want to have a set schedule of work (5 hours a day, could be split into morning and afternoon) and a fixed time for eating, as we like to eat together and need this rhythm for our kids.

We would love to host families with kids, so that we can organize activities for them together. We are fans of Waldorf/Steiner schools, Democratic education, unschooling, etc. and would love some families with experience in that area. If by the time our kids are school-age we have a few families living here, we would love to organize a cooperative homeschooling program for all the kids.

A little more about us: We are in our late 30s, Stanislav is a robotics engineer and his work is setting up hydroelectric and photovoltaic systems. Diana is a former marketing director from the non-profit sector (organizing international volunteer camps in developing countries), with certificates in GEN's ecovillage design education (taken in Findhorn) and permaculture design by TreeYo Permaculture, currently exploring the field of energetic medicine using the Body Code and Emotion Code healing modalities.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use