Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 48752
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.88
Persons: up to 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48752
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 18, 2018

We have a lovely life-style block with chickens, cows, cats, and a horse. We have a new modern guest house available for hard working folks happy to help out with various projects around the property, including gardening, landscaping, building and improving our mountain bike and jump track, eliminating old man's beard and gorse, some house cleaning, weeding, cutting fire wood, and other non-technical chores. The majority of our talks suit physically fit individuals who enjoy working in the outdoors.

We are flexible about which days you work so you can maximise your enjoyment of the region.

We are avid mountain bikers and more than happy to take people on local trails (you would need your own bikes or to hire some) around the region. Nelson is simply incredible for mountain bikers!

Update for keen mountain bikers! We have just completed the first phase of our very own downhill pump and jump track. 400m or so ready to ride and we are keen for your help to make it even more awesome! The trail needs maintenance now that it has been finished, and we are steadily building new wooden jumps and drops.

We are also keen to have musicians stay with us and jam with/teach our kids guitar, drums, and base.

You will need your own car as we are a very scenic 12 minute drive from Nelson.

We are happy to discuss the number of hours per day to work, and are happy to vary it depending on whether you want to provide your own food, or we provide it. Please note that the work is physical, not light fluffy work, some outdoor experience with work or good physical condition is required. However there is a wide range of tasks so we can find something that suits everyone.

The guest house is very new and comfortable and has wifi and a TV for watching dvds or blu-rays or hooking up to your laptop. Please:
- non-smokers only!!!!!!!!
- we have no land-line so you will need to use internet or your own phone for calls
- no dogs
- kids welcome (we have lots of space for them to play)
- as well as speaking english, american and kiwi, we also speak Spanish and French (we lived 20 years in South America)
- No drugs tolerated
- Internet speed is only copper wire, so streaming movies will probably be a bit slow
- Minimum stay of 3 days please, however we prefer week long stays, and many helpers have decided to stay for 3 or more weeks.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use