help exchange   Host 49023
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 49023
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 10, 2016

Hi there.

My property is located in the beautiful Yarra Valley, 1 and a half hours from Melbourne, and 10 minutes from the scenic township of Warburton. We enjoy snow on the mountains in Winter, and swimming in the river in Summer. We are very active participants in the local alternative community, and would be happy to involve you in community dinners and lunches, markets, women's circles, weekly dance and yoga events, community farm gatherings, forest activism and more should you be interested!

I am an intentionally single mother to 1 six year old boy, and 1 six month old baby girl. We live on a beautiful half acre property surrounded by mountains, National Park and State Forest, where I am slowly creating an organic garden, in a small house that I am (also slowly!) renovating. I am very experienced in natural, healthy living, am a yoga and dance teacher, and am home educating my children. We are very involved in the local homeschool community, and I run my own bush school out in the forest where I teach bush crafts to homeschool children. I would be very happy to share/exchange knowledge with you!

We are very interested in foreign languages - although not fluent in any, we are currently learning French and German in our homeschool. Our home is a deeply nurturing space, based on yogic and Steiner principles. We share our home with a large friendly dog and 2 cats.

I am seeking 1 volunteer to stay with us and assist with a variety of tasks including:
-gardening duties:maintenance/veggie garden/fruit trees/native garden/medicinal and culinary herbs
-assist with daily cooking and also food preservation (fermenting/canning/jams/drying)
-child care/helping in the homeschool/helping at bush school
-assist with renovations to your capability
-building a chook house
-making natural cleaning products
-any special skills that you have would also be warmly welcome

In return for roughly four hours work a day, I can offer:
-accommodation in our home with single bed in own room, sharing a bathroom with us (this is a small house, so early quiet nights for the children are essential)
-all meals provided. We eat mainly organic and home-cooked and delicious! Please bring your own coffee and milk if you drink it
-flexibility in hours/days worked
-as much or as little participation in our social/community life as you wish!
-we live in a very naturally wild place, so unless you have your own transport you will be mainly reliant on my car to get to town. However,we are out and about a lot, and there are two buses a day into town.
-I am originally English, so a good opportunity for English language practice if that is your aim.
-a home away from home:)

Hope to see you soon

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use