help exchange   Host 49135
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 or 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 49135
Country: Japan

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 14, 2020

UPDATE:Priority will be given to persons with a driving license valid for Japan. If you fit this description for any time period, please contact me ASAP. If you do not have such a license, I can probably use your help, however, so please contact me if interested.
* * * * * * * * * * *

I was born in England, but lived in the US from the age of 1 until I was 18, at which point I returned to England. I studied philosophy at Cambridge, but spent more time in drama productions than studying.

I subsequently went to London, and lived for several years in a freaky apartment with such psychedelic people as Syd Barrett of the Pink Floyd, while working in a couple of avantgarde art galleries.

As the 60s drew to a close,I went to India to meet some yoga masters, which worked out very well. I then came to Japan, where for several years I lived on the road with a motorcycle, photographing around the country.

I became a jewelry designer, then got into the collecting and restoring of antiques, doing quite a few gallery shows of Japanese traditional artefacts in the U.S. and Europe.

I got into computers in the late 80s, and through my interest in virtual reality, became involved with Timothy Leary and the magazine Mondo 2000, of which I became the Japan editor.

I soon became very interested in electronic music, and from the early 90s was an ambient/trance DJ in Japan and Bali, where I also lived part of the year while designing and producing various crafts.

Shortly before the end of the century, I set out to create my own place for music events, which is where I now live, a space in the mountains where occasional dance parties and various kinds of workshops and retreats take place.

My online activity consists of maintaining several websites and blogs, as well as considerable posting to Facebook.

Type of help needed:
Cooking / shopping
General Maintenance
Help in the house
Help during monthly gathering of friends and musicians
Help with Computers / internet

This is an event space with a certain amount of garden, where I grow some organic vegetables. The garden needs regular maintenance, except of course in the winter, and I also run a workshop where I restore antique furniture. Help involves keeping the grounds clear and occasional preparation for parties, etc.

I have been an antique dealer for years, and have many items that are in need of restoration and taking to market, so a driving license valid for Japan would be a great help. In the winter months, more of the work required would take place indoors, such as helping with my online selling of various items.If you can read and write Japanese, you could be of great help with this

I would expect 4 to 5 hours work per day, depending on the intensity of the task, with two days off per week, most likely the weekend, although when there is a weekend event here that requires your assistance, I may ask you to take the days off on different days.

When offering your help, please provide answers to these questions:

1.Can you be specific about the time period you envisage being available?
2. What is the minimum period to which you could definitively commit if so decided?

(It can be very inconvenient if helpers treat an agreed upon timetable as an option rather than an obligation, cancelling or moving to another hosting without the advance notice needed for the host to find an alternative. If you regard a commitment for a certain period as an option rather than a promise, please don`t apply. People who expect me to keep to an arrangement but are willing to depart without adequate advance notice will receive negative feedback. )

3.What is the maximum period you could stay if you didn`t need or want to leave?
4. Do you have or can you get an international driving permit?

Languages spoken:
English, French, Japanese

Next door to the house in which I live is a traditional farmhouse which I have restored to a condition suitable for guests and events. You would be able to use this building, except if there is a gathering or event which requires all the rooms, in which case there is a third building with bedrooms, where I also might ask you to live if you are staying for a long enough time that you want to create your own space, as the rooms in the guesthouse must be able to be completely emptied for some kinds of occasions.

Meals I provide are vegetarian (not strict vegan), and are a popular feature of the events I host. People seem to like the cuisine, which ranges from Japanese to Italian to Indian. I tend to get up late, so often it will best for you to prepare your own breakfasts if you are an early riser. This is also an alcohol-free zone, especially during musical events, but I do not enforce the rule strictly in the case of moderate usage, I am, however, disinclined to socialise with people under the influence.

We are not within easy walking distance of the town, but a vehicle is usually available for use, such as if you want to go into the town or travel somewhere on a day off, e.g. at weekends.There are many places of interest around Chichibu. See A valid driving license would of course be required for this. Please let me know if you have or can get an international driving license, or are from a country not required to get one to drive in Japan,e.g. Switzerland, France, etc.

Music is an important part of my life, and I enjoy ambient, downtempo, blues, deep house and trance electronica, jazz, ethnic music and classical. Some of my music mixes from various events can be found at

There are certain genres that I just don`t want to hear. For example: heavy metal, rap, happy hardcore, pop music, most rock and roll. Aggressive, shallow, or sentimental music I can do without. What you listen to in your own room is up to you, but be warned that in shared spaces I may request the use of headphones sometimes.

Wifi, Internet access is provided

2 cats are around here somewhere.

Smoking is discouraged in my presence, as I have a lung condition that does not respond well to it.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use