help exchange   Host 49406
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: One person
Category: Other
Host ID: 49406
Region: Hawkes Bay

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 17, 2019

Hi I`m Dan and I would like to welcome a mature friendly and reliable helper to help me look after three of my own dogs and maybe one
or sometimes two rescued dogs and that is why I need your help!

What will you get from being my helpx?
In exchange for your help you will stay in a safe, comfortable and warm home with meals we plan together. Your own bedroom has a very
comfortable bed. Your privacy is respected and you will have lots of opportunity to have your own
time. I know lots of cheap or free fun activities that we can do together or on your own. You will have the opportunity to interact
with my friends and discover some of the "hidden gems" of Hawkes Bay that you can only do here.

About Me
I am a airport rescue firefighter, Builder(carpenter) and am also a Trustee of a dog rescue charity in Hawke`s Bay.
I am a easy going guy with a great sense of humour and very friendly. I have lots of interests including hiking, camping, fishing on
my boat, world travel and good conversation. I am very open, honest and respectful of all cultures and life choices. I also love to
travel and go overseas every year. I have been to USA, Rarotonga, Easter island, Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Germany, France, Netherlands, Austria, and Italy.
I am always joking and kidding around so it helps if you are a little crazy however if your shy Its ok, I can do all of the talking :)

The Dogs
I foster rescued dogs until I can find a forever home for them. The work with the rescue dogs is harder than you think however it is
very rewarding.
Most of the rescue dogs have not had any love or taught any manners. You will be helping me get the dogs from the pound (Dog Jail) that are going to
be euthanized and helping me with some training. I will guide you through this. I have had helpers that had little or no experience with dogs become
very comfortable and good dog trainers.

Your Jobs
You will expect to work no more than 4 hours per day. Instructions are always very clear so you will know what to do. You even get a
instruction guide.
The Dogs need to be walked in the park every day and you will need to feed them some mornings and nights depending on my work shift.
At least 2 mornings per week you will need be up at 7am to tend to the dogs while I am on my morning shift.
You will also make sure the dogs always have water as it gets very hot here.

It would also be great to have someone helping me with general household and gardening tasks.I prefer you to feel comfortable with cooking,
that would be great because eating is one of my hobbies. I like to try different food and I can adjust to vegetarian diet.
Apart from my evening shifts when I`m at work we will eat together and Talk. I believe that helpx is about culture exchange and I am very interested
in listening to your thoughts.

I live out of Napier in the Eskdale valley. It is a beautiful green valley with vineyards and a safe swimmable river to cool you off.
Napier is a 15 min drive from here and Hastings is about 30 min. In case you dont have a car I would be happy to give you a ride to Napier or Hastings
if I have some appointments there. I have a bicycle and helmet you can use to explore the cycle trails in this area.

you will have plenty of time to discover Hawke’s Bay and I would help you find some good places to go! I even have some surprises up my sleeve.

If that sounds like the place your looking for, please email me. I will answer as soon as possible.
Im looking forward to hearing from you! Cheers and take care

Regards Dan.

See you soon!!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use