help exchange   Host 4949
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


(near) Popovo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): About 4 acres
Persons: 2-6
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4949
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 22, 2020

Welcome to Lisa, Tuncher & Reuben's profile,

We wish you & your dear ones well in these strange times.

We are awakening to the possibilities of having volunteers again!!

Please keep up to date with the ongoing changes in Bulgarian covid-19 laws.

We greatly appreciate our past volunteers & the contributions they make to our life & dreams!!

We miss having & meeting new volunteers to share in our life, especially the ones who were booked to come from March onwards. May we meet at some other opportunity!!

We are looking for longer term volunteers in 2020, stays preferably no shorter than 3 weeks please.
However, we will of course take 1-2 weekers. Everything is negotiable!

We have the finishing of a Rocket stove for heating the bathroom, some antimuddyness projects, a small pond area to finish, various gardening and woodland management projects are always ongoing.

**The Rocket stove is being worked on at present.

**The creation of a roof for the outside eating area and a swing sofa is another interesting project.
We have already started this!
This involved putting in the posts, digging trenches & moving stone to the site. The work left to do is, to finish building small stone walls, creating the roof structure, constructing the back wall as a Bottle Wall, tiling the roof & taking a metal framed sofa and turning it into a swinging one!! Putting the table & chairs in place & eating??

Volunteers having cooking abilities is always useful but not essential.

We have limited internet at home, on a phone, the reception is not always great due to our location, I can usually reply within a day or 2.
I always reply to requests!

We are off grid. We have at present 450W of solar panels feeding an inverter for 240V sockets and 2 large leisure batteries for 12V lights & sockets as well as storing electrickery.

Our water is collected from the roofs and drinking water is collected from various springs, usually with horse & cart. We then filter the drinking water.

We have 2 horses, 1 calf, 11 meat rabbits, 2 small dogs, 2 rescued puppies and 1 cat & her 4 kittens. We had a hive of bees, that was destroyed by wasps last Autumn. I will look for bees this year. I follow The BareFoot BeeKeeper, Philip Chandler.

11 years ago we (being Lisa myself, Reuben my 27yr son & Zo my 23yr daughter, they are only here occasionally now) took on this beautiful & wild wooded land which had not been lived on for maybe 30 years.
We wish to finish renovating the cob-brick & oak frame 3 room cottage, clear fallen & dead trees, which we use for our cooking and heating. Grow, harvest & preserve vegetables & fruit, maintain animal housing, have other bees, make fences, sit & enjoy, share the space, learn & teach and that will do to start as the list is endless. The 3 of us had been volunteers & have done lots of hosting of various sorts.

Staying here will be primitivish, comfortable, well fed & hopefully interesting & fun!

The WE now is myself, Lisa & Tuncher, who speaks Bulgarian & Turkish. I speak English & Bulgarian.
Reuben, my son, is here at present, for the foreseeable future (although wishes to be somewhere else during the 2 hottest months). He speaks English & basic Bulgarian.

Tuncher also has a house in the village (see accommodation) where we sometimes work with volunteers, generally keeping the plant growth in check. Here there is about 1 acre. This year we are going to repair the roof over the hay barn/stable, finish fixing the yard gateway/roof and at the same time turn it into the new horse feed store and put up a post & rail fence on one boundary.

Smokers are welcome, however smoking is outside please.

We can cater for all kinds of food requirements, Vegetarian, Vegan, allergies and Gluten Free, please let us know beforehand which category you fall into!

When answering please detail any skills in the gardening/natural building/cooking & preserving areas you have, also which things you are interested in doing while here.

Also in the summer there are children`s craft days with a friend.

At certain times of the year there are workshares with friends.

Throughout the year there will be:
Collecting bales, hay & grain.
Creating new electrickery fenced areas for the horses.
If you wish to get to know the horses, please say.
Sowing, weeding, harvesting & preserving vegetables/fruit.
Natural building: mud work/plastering, timber building.
Clearing land, preparing for winter.
Sourcing timber on our land for winter.

And more, you could also learn how to drive a horse & cart!! Most of our work in the village is by cart.

Volunteer accommodation is in Tuncher`s house in the same village about 15 minutes walk away. There is a renovated, separate self contained room, with 2 single beds (these can be pushed together to make a double), a sink, (see photo below with sink in yellow & brown room) a wood fired stove and long drop loo. This house does have basic electrickery and cold running water!

NO smoking in the room please!

After that it is a very large summer tent. This would also be at the other house so you would have use of the same amenities. Accommodation is on a first booked, first served basis (unless you really wish to camp).

Of course you can bring your own tent and we have plenty of bedding.

Things to do on days off:

Walking, hiking, if proficient enough take a horse ride or have a riding lesson, fishing, catch a bus somewhere else to explore for a couple of days.

In your request please put in the following phrase, (so we know you have read all the way to here), `Swimming with Horses`.

We have arranged a free volunteer account for Internet at the nearest library, Voditsa 8km.

Fishing in the local lake, carp and sheatfish.

We do not have a car, so travel is by feet, bus on Fridays, hitching or horse n cart/ horse.

Blessings,
Lisa, Tuncher & Reuben

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use