Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 49666
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: From April to October
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 49666
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 8, 2018

We are a family of five (mum, dad and three kids (born in 2010, 2012 and 2015)) living in Eastern Finland on an old historical farm. Here we run a business in agriculture, forestry and tourism. We have rental cottages for tourists and smoke sauna area for arranging functions by a lake. At the moment we are concentrating on sustainable tourism at our lakeside area. In our gardens we grow fruit, berries and some vegetables for our own use. In the summertime we also have sheep on our fields.

Our farm is located in a small village not too far from the Russian border. The closest shops are seven kilometers away, while Joensuu, the closest bigger city, is 60 km away. There isn't really public transportation, but we will take you to places every now and then, if needed.

Here at our place you can do activities such as cycling, hiking, swimming in a lake or rowing a boat. The lake Tohmajärvi is only 500 meters from our house and our place is surrounded by beautiful landscapes, so enjoying the surrounding nature is definitely one of the best things to do at our house.

This year, we are looking for handy helpers mainly for the spring/beginning of the summer (April, May and first two weeks of June), but also for autumn (September and October). For this spring we have in mind projects, such as fixing our greenhouse and planting some plants there, making a new strawberry bench, fence-making for the sheep, planting trees and landscaping. In the autumn the tasks are mainly picking up berries/ apples and preserving them for winter. In addition, both in the spring and autumn, your tasks may include babysitting, housework, building and renovating, painting etc.

You will be living in our home with our family. Please note that we have a cat living with us in the house. We will provide all the meals and an accommodation in your own room (well, shared, if there are two or three of you) with a double bed, sofa and a private shower/toilet. We hope our helpers to be flexible in terms of working hours and tasks, and capable to work independently at times. We are happy to take a few helpers at a time, and couples are welcome, too!

Welcome to spend some time with us in the beautiful countryside of Tohmajärvi!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use