help exchange   Host 49703
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 408
Persons: 1-2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 49703
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 8, 2016

Our property is located in the beautiful Upper Murray, North East Victoria. We run a commercial Angus herd of 200-250 breeders. As a spring calving enterprise, we have a lot of hands on animal handling activities in spring time (August/September) when interventions may be required to deliver calves, (Janice is a veterinarian, so the maternity ward is well resourced!) We mark and vaccinate the calves in October and wean in March. Pregnancy testing occurs in February. We supplementary feed hay/ silage during winter (tractor work here!)
We are actively improving the property and are currently undertaking stock yard construction, machinery shed construction, fencing and re-vegetation projects.
There is plenty of opportunity for a willing volunteer to gain some experience in a wide range of agricultural activities but don't worry, we aren't slave drivers!
We offer full board and lodging in exchange for an average of 25 hours of enthusiastic volunteering per week - farm work, construction work, gardening, assistance with household chores. We are happy to be flexible with working hours to allow for an opportunity for the helper to explore our district.(Maybe, put in a few long days to have 3-4 days per week entirely free to explore our beautiful environment via the multitude of bush walks, visit the nearby snowfields or go camping and fishing on the Murray river. We are happy to negotiate something that is beneficial for all parties!
We expect Helpers to be honest, responsible, easy going and have a good grasp of the English language.
We have two teenage sons who are heavily involved in sport.
We are located 5 km from a small country town with a pub, shop and medical centre. The town is serviced by a daily bus service to nearest city 120km away.
We have mobile service and helpers can access our WiFi.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use