help exchange   Host 49839
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 200
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 49839
Region: West Coast

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 6, 2017

I grew up on dairy farms in New Zealand and now own a share in a couple on the West Coast of the south island. I joined help x in July 2016 after my sister in law has had many successful placements.

For january and february 2017, i am likely to be too busy and tired to do help x. Its not fair to help x if you are here for a experience and im out most of the day then come home and fall asleep infront of tv. I have Lots of tractor work, silage making, farm admin and milking c

In AugusT-October there will be some baby calves to feed! You maybe able to go to the milking shed and see how it looks to milk a few hundred cows.

The kind of jobs you may be helping with when staying would be. The first priority would be helping with some housework. Have the house fire burning through the day, maybe cook a meal for dinner, help with dishes. It depends on the week sometimes I may have you help feed calves, or hose down the shed after milking. Once you have shown me how you work for a couple of days we may do more varied farm jobs. I am offering a place to stay in exchange for four hours of work and I provide you somewhere to stay and all food.

When staying on this farm we are on the west coast and we measure rain by metres a year! So when it rains it pours. When the weather is good you will potentially get sunburnt. The one thing I need you to bring is gumboots. Go to warehouse or number one shoe warehouse or op shop. The farm store like Wrightons(these ones will be very good quality but not the cheapest quality. Perth gumboots are quite good as they go quite high up the leg) these ones are what kiwi farmers might buy but I would only get if you plan to spend at least a month farming.

As I part own a few farms two of them are within a 10-15 drive to the small town of Reefton. This town is lovely and has a supermarket, cafes, fuel station, movie theatre and lots of opportunities for day walks and a few overnight tramps in the area too.

I am looking for someone to stay about almost 2 weeks. You must be over 25 years old. (A insurance rule if driving the company vechicles) For your information I do not expect you to drive on a daily basis but maybe once a week you might go grocery shopping for example.

Farm safety is important to me. We have rivers, steep terrain and all sorts of hazards. I will be honest and say I would like you to have good English as I need you to understand instructions.

During the day I am not always able to be reached on cellphone due to the areas I travel. I also usually check emails every night but not check them during the daytime.

Reefton is fantastic for walking, mountain biking and trout fishing is just some ideas. There is day walks or overnight tramps. Lake Daniels is a beautiful overnight walk. Overnight tramps take planning and looking at the weather. It could snow or get stuck in west coast heavy rain. Old ghost trail is fantastic mountain bike trail. If you have your own car you maybe able to see more of the walks further away. Mariua hot pools is stunning but just over an hour away.

You have your own bedroom in a modern house. There is a wood fire to keep the house warm. This house sits high up on the hill and you look out over farmland and a river and the mountains are in the distance. The bedroom has a queen bed. If it is two friends travelling together there is two different rooms available. You get your own bathroom.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use