Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 49919
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 49919
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 20, 2017

We live in a beautiful area of South Devon. Anthony have our own business and care for Anthony's elderly father, Raymond, who has early stage dementia and lives in our annex. Frogmore is a small friendly village 3 miles from Kingsbridge and 12 miles from Dartmouth. There is a good local pub and a small shop/bakery. It is on a regular bus route between Dartmouth & Plymouth.

Our home is situated on the estuary and has a large garden. We also have our own chickens and grow fruit & vegetables.

Anthony & I run the B&B with the help of our cleaner Andrea, who usually services the rooms and does all the cleaning, but we would like help with this when she is away or on a couple of days a week when she is not working.

There are usually one or two other workaday volunteers in the village.

Our volunteer would be living in the annex with Raymond and we would like him/her to help look after Raymond, who can generally care for himself but needs to be kept an eye on. We generally take him fresh bread in the mornings for breakfast, provide him with a plated lunch, which he has by himself and he usually joins us for dinner.

He is a very placid man and sleeps a lot during the day and has to be kept to a routine. Raymond has a West Highland Terrier, Rafa, who is a delightful dog. Raymond will take Rafa for a short morning walk and one of us usually takes him for a longer walk in the afternoons.

As well as the volunteering tasked agreed, we do expect our volunteers to muck in with everyday household tasks like washing up, keeping their bedroom and bathroom clean and generally tidying up after themselves.

We do not accept smokers, heavy drinkers or drug users.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use