help exchange   Host 49998
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Mayenne
All Year: No
Area (ha): 1/2
Persons: 1-4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 49998
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 6, 2020


We now have helpers for most of the year, some availability in September. DIYers, gardeners, carpenters will all be welcome.
Hosts.. We are English.John and Barbara, retired teachers.
We have owned our property, not a farm, more of a very large garden, since 1989. We now spend half the year here.We have much less energy but still need to keep on top of a productive garden and continue renovations. We have catered for vegans, vegetarians, celiacs and other needs/preferences. We try to be organic gardeners and be self-sufficient with fruit and veg. We keep ducks for eggs and have a large polytunnel.

Broadband wi-fi is present on site. Bicycles are available.

We aim for self-sufficiency without being extreme. We grow, harvest, and try to conserve any excess.This means bottling and drying produce later in the season.
The crops include asparagus, beans, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, lettuce, potatoes, tomatoes, spinach, kiwi,cherries,peaches,apples, pears, apricots,plums, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, red and blackcurrants, seedless grapes, figs and physalis. Assorted trees for log burner. This means : weeding, pruning, hoeing, mowing, log splitting, hedge trimming, etc.
We are renovating a 300 yr old farmhouse, but very slowly now. An ability to work independently here would be useful.
Meals or provisions will be provided as will tea, coffee and soft drinks. There are two guest houses, each with their own bathroom where you will stay.
We don`t expect set hours of work, just pitch in with us, or ask for a project. It usually works out at about 4/5 hours work a day.
We bake our own bread, sourdough being the favourite, though I sometimes resort to the breadmaker when pushed for time.

It`s quiet and peaceful.





Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use