Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50019
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Ponta do Sol
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0,06
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 50019
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 15, 2018

An old house and banana organic farm that belonged to my great grandparents which I manage since 4 years ago. I host tourists through Airbnb and sometimes CouchSurfing. You'll help me maintain the garden, banana plantation vegetables and other trees, composting, housekeeping, some construction, upcycling and welcoming guests for my Airbnb space. I love working with permaculture, dry toilets, bio-construction, fungal and bacterial worlds, arts and spiritualism. I have a very good network of friends and people that work on sustainability in the island, Portugal mainland and even world like. I have done independent volunteering in Haiti after the big earthquake with GiveLove NGO, working on compost toilets with Joe Jenkins (Humanure Handbook), Hamish Skermer (Natural Event) and Patricia Arquette (actress and NGO founder). I have also managed, develop and scaled up the dry toilets and food waste composting departments at Boom Festival in 2008, 2010 and 2012.
I ask for 5 hours of work per day in exchange for accommodation and organic food.
I can provide most of the food and you/we can prepare meals when possible (sometimes I work outside and have no time to make meals at home)
I have a full room (single bed) with some of my belongings. There is free wifi internet, land line telephone and cable TV. I also have portable bluetooth speaker so we can work with some music ;)
On free time I can drive you around the island for walks or fun.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use