Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50022
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.4
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50022
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 24, 2018

Update: We are urgently looking for help! We have been badly let down and really need someone who is able to come out this week - w/c 24th September 2018. Even if it is for a short period. We are looking for preferably a couple to help on our yard ideally for 2-3 months or even longer. (Do contact us however, even if you can only come for a shorter period!) Some experience with horses is essential, as I work as a maths teacher Mon-Fri, so Im at school and not around through the week to help out very much. Being passionate about animals is a must... we have many rescues and they all need care and attention - they may not be the most beautiful or perfectly behaved - many are very old, theyve been through a lot, so they need patience, understanding and love now! If you might be interested, Id love to hear from you!

We are English but live in the Alicante region, Costa Blanca and have a small livery and riding stables. We are looking for people to help with the stables and manage the yard generally. The work involves feeding, mucking out corrals (much easier than stables, although we may need to stable horses during very bad weather) and exercising horses. Our horsemanship is as natural as possible, (no harsh bits, no spurs, often bareback) we teach liberty and are starting to work on vaulting too. We have mostly English-speaking clients, but one or two Spanish-speaking clients. The livery yard will need to be kept clean and tidy, so some weeding, keeping the tack (saddles/bridles etc), tack-room and yard bathroom clean. There are also 3 rescue dogs who live here permanently and currently one foster dog -seeking a forever home; plus 2 cats, 2 pigs and 7 chickens who also need feeding, cleaning out etc.

In return, you will have accommodation in a double bedroom and vegetarian/vegan food in our house. There is always plenty of food in the house for you to make your own breakfast, lunch and evening meal. If you want additional snacks, or specific toiletries that you prefer, there are plenty of local shops for you to buy whatever you like. (Our passion for animals means that we don't have any meat or fish in the house and milk is soya or almond milk.... If we should go out for a meal, we only buy vegetarian/vegan food as we choose not to fund the meat industry. We do not believe that we have the right to take the lives of others, this is really important to us.)

There is the opportunity to earn some money from giving riding lessons if you have experience and qualifications in this. We have internet available, and are situated between the towns of Catral and Dolores. The beach is a 15 minute drive away and on weekends I am happy to drive to you a local beach or market.

Would love to hear from people who are as passionate about animals as we are! Thank you for checking out our yard and good luck in finding your perfect adventure!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use