Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50100
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 50100
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 5, 2016

We are a family on a working / hobby farm with a massive variety of animals including horses, cow and calves , pigs and sometimes piggies, donkeys, goats, ponies, over 100 geese, chickens, rabbits, 10 dogs and sometimes puppies, cats and sometimes kittens, tonnes of little birds and 2 very friendly children. Wouter is 60yrs old, is around 1.9m tall and has a good sense of humor & likes to read about the economy. Marina is 36yrs old, and works from home as an Architectural Illustrator.

We need someone to mind our children and someone else to help out around the farm.

If you are child minding then we would need you to walk around the farm with the children, read to them, play with them in the playground, walk to get the mail, visit the animals, and feed the animals with them. It is an advantage of you feel you have something to teach them and it would be nice if you could read to them. If would be nice if you could help out a bit around the house also like do some dishes.

We are also accepting anyone who can teach piano or guitar to Marina (Adult).

Other jobs around the farm may include gardening, landscaping, painting, repairing furniture, or any number of projects that could be priority at the time. Past woofers have done projects like make our large book library for the kids, build our playground, construct pathways, construct our entire garden, paint our family wall, paint our kitchen, hallways, bedrooms, kids wooden toys, make soap, replant/re-position trees, fencing, varnish doors, cleaning, sewing, making our large dvd cabinet, firewood stacking, preparing rooms for guests and a whole stack of other things. If you are here long-term (Internship), then we may ask you to feed the animals which will require training.

We both work from home, Marina has a full time business and works on her PC for most of the time and Wouter feeds the animals and often is doing projects or fixing something around the farm. Relax time for you could be on the internet, reading, watching dvds, playing our guitar or piano or harmonica or sing, riding a bike, sewing (if you know how), bathing in our kiddie swimming pool, sleeping, walking around the area (with a view of the mountains) playing with kittens or puppies or the dogs or children, or running, or playing board games or card games. At night we like to relax by the TV or half use or PC's while watching TV. We are very spontaneous and do not follow any routine so you would need to be flexible with our lifestyle. There may be times where we are discussing what to do or waiting to see what the weather does which makes long gaps before or between your work, so if would be good if you could bring something to do (or use the internet) during those times.

We do things differently here so this place is not for the weak or faint-hearted. Good if you want to learn about self-sufficiency and producing your own electricity. We have a compost toilet, heat the water from the sun and water-back fireplace, use gas for cooking, heat the house with a fireplace, love to talk about the economy, the kids, the weather, anything that's happening around the farm, or anything that you choose to talk about or question.

Other basic info

*No smoking *We eat meat & veges everyday & do not cater for special diets or vegetarians, *Accommodation is in the house, shared helpers shower, shared toilet, *We have 3-4 indoor dogs and 1 indoor cat and we sometimes have Japanese guests staying with us. *No hairdryers allowed (as we are on solar power) *You do need a working visa / working holiday visa to help us *We don't pay our helpers- Exchange is for food, accommodation, warmth, experience and friendship

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use