Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50131
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.2
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 50131
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 25, 2016

Hi, we are Meegan and Brett Woodstone . We share a passion for the simple things in life: growing healthy and nourishing food; learning and sharing hands on skills; ethical and sustainable farming practices.

We live in on our family’s 8 acre property with our 3 dogs, 20+ chickens, and would love the help from an energetic, reliable and tidy person or couple around the farm, in exchange for accommodation and meals.

The property is a working Tree Farm, we grow and sell advanced trees; we are also in the process of setting up a 600m2 organic market garden that will provide produce for local restaurants and cafes. The Tree farm is currently managing weeds using scything, slashing & animal systems, so we will need help in the paddocks hand weeding, scything and helping feed, water and move chickens around.

Dependent on when you are available to stay, we will also need help with a larger variety of tasks as we set up the market garden and convert the existing shed into a workshop space to run educational courses on the farm. This could include painting, wheelbarrowing and digging soil, spreading mulch and compost, planting, sanding timber, preparing meals, cleaning, repairing and building fences and help constructing a new chook pen and netted orchard.

The farm is located in GNANGARA, 25km north east of the Perth CBD. The farm is 15km from the nearest train station and 5 km from the nearest bus station. If you do not have transport we can organise to pick you up from Whitfords or Edgewater Train Station. The closest shop for fruit vegetables and general groceries is 3 km away. There are a number of larger shopping centres located within 10km of the farm.

We live in a semi rural area, surrounded by bushland, wetlands, lakes and farms. My husband takes the boat out regularly for surfing and fishing of the reef, it takes about 30 minutes to get to the beach from our property and you are welcome to go with him. If you have your own transport the local wine region is about 30 minutes away, and a number of national parks and beautiful bushwalks within 30 minutes drive.

Our home only has 1 bedroom, so your accommodation is provided in a clean and cosy caravan, there is a timber annex over the caravan and a semi enclosed outdoor kitchen and your own hot shower. The toilet is located 5 metres away and is attached to our shed. There is only 1 double bed in the caravan, so we can only accommodate 1 person or a couple at a time.

We would love to share lunch and evening meals with you in our home a few days & nights during the week dependent on our schedule, and are happy to help you learn English. Meegan speaks a little French and Brett a little german.

Some nights and days we may not be home, so your kitchen is fully equipped if you would like to cook for yourself. Foods for breakfast and lunch & dinner will be provided for you, and you will also be able to use vegies & fruit from our garden, eggs from the chickens, honey, & we will bake loaf of bread for you every few days.

We are asking for 4 hours work per day, 5 days a week in exchange for accommodation, meals and food.

Non smokers only please, and we eat mainly a vegetarian diet so minimal meat will be provided for you.

We look forward to meeting you.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use