Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50480
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.3
Persons: couple preferred
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50480
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 17, 2018

We look forward to you staying with us.

Where we live is surrounded by stunning rainforest clad mountains and year round green pastures. Port Douglas and the Great Barrier Reef, the Atherton Tablelands, Mossman Gorge and the Daintree National Park are all within 20 to 45 minutes drive.

We live on eight acres of orchards, paddocks & veggie gardens with lots of native trees and local wildlife (wallabies, butterflies, birds, owls, green tree frogs). Three years ago, the property supported sheep, barramundi & poultry. We are currently growing veggie gardens & tropical fruit trees (banana & pawpaw) but would like to reintroduce animals & expand vegetable production. We use organic, permaculture and regenerative agriculture principles and are believers in the transition movement. You might be lucky enough to be here when we are caring for orphaned wallabies.

Work includes:-
fencing, building a greenhouse, we are also looking to do some house maintenance and build more accommodation on site and would be interested in anyone with building skills.
gardening (planting wildlife corridors, planting native trees, shovelling mulch, composting, ride-on mowing, chainsaw pruning, weeding, planting & harvesting organic fruit and vegetables)
maintaining poultry & fish

Accommodation for 2 (ideally a couple or solo traveller)is provided in a neat & clean room in the converted shed 5 metres from the house. The room has a brand new Double Bed & mattress. Clean sheets, towels and linen are provided. You would share our bathroom, laundry, kitchen and outdoor living space with us.
Shared meals, mostly vegetarian, although we can cook meat on the BBQ. Vegans catered for. No children. Initial stays of 3-5 days, longer stays negotiated. Please give us at least one week's notice.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use