help exchange   Host 50559
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 800
Persons: 1-8
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 50559
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 23, 2019

If you are a traveller wanting to experience a family farm in the wide open spaces of the Mallee,whilst feasting on free range lamb ,(vegetarians welcome)then we are the farm for you.Our property is an hour and a half north of the beautiful Grampians,and south of the popular Murray River.In our surroundings we have the Wyperfield National Park with lake Albacutya,a little further on lake Hindmarsh ,and to the north lake Tyrrell.We are also very close to the Yarriambiack silo art trail.If you are interested in music Andy is a keen drummer.

We are both 63 yrs of age and live near a quiet local town with a small lake, groceries ,post office ,pharmacy ,bakery ,newsagency ,etc.and conveniently located for travelling between Melbourne and Mildura (close to a V-line coach service).

You will have plenty of space and be accommodated in your own home surrounded by grasslands and sheep.This property is self-contained with bedding for up to 7 people including 2 double beds ,shower bathroom ,cooking facilities ,and a log fire.The photos in our profile show the spare house is the first one listed ,the wide angled photo is our mud brick home which we built.

We are requiring workers to help with general farm maintenance about 5 hours per day (often less) about 6 days per week .Farm experience would be helpful but not essential.Our home is a broad acre farm growing grain and running sheep. The type of work is mixed choosing from general maintenance, weed control, fencing ,rabbit control ,gardening ,housework or sheep handling .During your stay you may enjoy experiencing friendly kelpie sheep dogs being trained and put through their paces.We are open to traveller's helping at most times throughout the year and to your length of stay.
In return we offer accommodation and food where we share meals and you have the option of cooking some of your own meals in your own facilities.We have good internet access at our home.Groups welcome.
Looking forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use