Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50661
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Co. Galway
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.75 acres
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50661
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 11, 2018

We are a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children, two boys aged 7 and a half, and 5 years old, and a new baby girl born in June. We have one dog, 2 cats, 1 chicken and a guinea pig. We live on a beautiful piece of land about 20 minutes drive from Galway City and just on the doorstep of the gateway to Connemara, which is a very popular destination for anyone wanting to see the beauty of Ireland. We home-school our children, following the unschooling method in particular. Our daily routine consists of all the normal domestic chores around meals, feeding the animals, doing the shopping and also lots of adventure, play and fun. There are woods, mountains and beautiful gardens all in close proximity to us and we try to get out as often as we can. Less than 5 minutes walk from our home is a regular bus service, which goes directly to Galway city and also in the opposite direction out to Connemara. We cook food from fresh every day and are vegetarian.

We need help with the general daily domestic chores, feeding the animals, but particularly we need someone who loves the company of children. If you are interested in teaching then we would be open any skills you may have to offer, although we feel our children learn a lot from good quality contact with others. We also have some outdoor work in the garden.

Currently we are in the process of renovating an old building as a home, so we live temporarily in a mobile home. Accommodation for helpers would be in a separate cozy caravan, with a solid fuel stove. You will have your own living area, bed, toilet and full kitchen. The toilet is outside the caravan in a separate, covered deck area and it is a compost toilet. Currently there is no running hot water in the caravan, and although there is a camping shower, which can be filled with hot water, and a shower room, this may not be for everyone. We are more than happy for you to shower in our home where there is all the hot water you will need!! The caravan has internet, via an ethernet cable which can be plugged into your computer.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use