Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50689
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.4
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50689
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 6, 2017

We are looking for help with renovating the house and gardens. Wooding, hedge laying, forest garden, fruit and veg growing, landscaping, building and decorating.
Projects we have in mind are an off-grid cabin at the top of the land and an earth sheltered greenhouse. We want to have a wood-fired hot tub and maybe one day, even a sauna.

This place is truly wonderful, with amazing views and fantastic walks from the door step. We moved here in December 2013 and there is always plenty to do. There is something magical about this part of the world that we love and would like to share with others.We have been volunteers both at home in the UK and abroad. We would welcome people who have practical skills but who are also interested in learning.

We are up for people staying for about a week, to work hard in return for good hospitality.
We will also offer folk an opportunity to get out and about, see some of the beautiful places nearby and maybe check out some other interesting projects if time allows.We tend to eat a mainly vegetarian/vegan diet and occasionally eat meat. Local and organic is our approach.

- Cedar clad Cabin on SSSI limestone crag
- Fertile ash and hazel coppice woodland edge site
- Great birdlife and limestone flora and fauna
- Mountain views
- Bordered by Nature Reserve woodland
- Hill fort and Offa's Dyke long distance path
- Establishing Forest Garden
- Permaculture approach
- Accommodation in big camper van or spare room

About us .....

Bex enjoys food! Growing it organically, foraging for it, cooking and eating it. Bex teaches people how to build clay ovens and make sourdough bread. She runs a community garden for adults with learning difficulties at Fordhall farm Bex is also interested in healing and has trained as a massage therapist.

Phil is into design and problem solving; he has to do a lot of that here! This is due to our location, up a steep track, the demands of the site and the house. He is interested in community energy, climate change, buildings and shelter. He loves maps and checking out new places to explore. Phil likes doing yoga and has been doing it on and off for the last 35 years.

Phil and Bex have both completed a permaculture design course. We both work hard but we also like to party and are very sociable! Saying that, we do like time on our own. We have a dog called Toby who shares our life with us.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use