Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50726
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 950m2
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50726
Region: Christchurch

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 20, 2018

We are not back until the 26th of April

Hi to our future extended family,

We are now completing a 6 month house bus tour of New Zealand promoting our veggie planting guide (check out #crocalua on instagram). This has been epic and gives us even more knowledge to share with you when you are making your own New Zealand travel plans.

We are back in Christchuch from on the 26th of April and ready to roll with our next awesome helpex team. We thought that we could take a helpex caravan on our amazing bus tour but a 17 meter convoy seemed a bit too big. Sorry about that...

We are a well travelled couple in our early 40s. We have two super lovely boys age 7 at school and 2.5 at home full time.

We are based in central Christchurch not far from the city centre and from the red zone (a large expanse of land that was deemed unsuitable to build on after the earthquakes) We aim to move to the country some time soon but try to bring as much of the country to town as we can in the mean time. Our garden provides loads of food and we farm our own sheep and cows on a friends lifestyle block. This is a great day out for playing farmers for those of you interested.

We eat mostly organic with lots of fermented food, though are not adverse to the odd bag of chips, chocolate wine and beer as needed. :)

We have been with helpex now for one and a half years and love it. Most of our helpex family turn up for a week long stay and leave two months later. We love the exchange of culture and passion that our helpex folks have bought to our home and the real sense of family that this time builds.

We are finishing off our renovation of an earthquake damaged house and would love people with carpentry / building skills. Having said that we also have need for gardening, painting, pirating (yarrrrggh), throwing frisbees and inventing crazy machines.

The way we run the helpex is to ask helpers for three hours per day during the weekdays only. This covers your lovely accommodation, wifi, showers... It also gives you weekends off to explore! Often we find that one person does the helpex hours (6 per day) and the other in the couple finds full time work in Christchurch. We are open to different arrangements but we love the weekends off.

Your accommodation is in our lovely tour bus. This easily houses our family so is super lush for a single person or a couple. It has a comfy King sized bed, a great kitchen, power supply and lounge complete with a log burner. You will also have your own separate shower/toilet washing machine block.
We have bikes, sea kayaks and a workshop of tools available for you to use as well.

If this sounds like you then give us a call!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use