Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50777
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50777
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 8, 2016

Hi! I'm Diane, and for the last 12 years I have been living in my house and large garden in a tiny hamlet in the Monts d'Arree national park in Finistere, with our three dogs, a cat or four and a flock of 24 rescued battery chickens. I also run a business in England, and an online business, so I need help with the garden and cleaning the house. I've traveled a lot, speak French, German and Spanish, and love meeting new people. As a former TEFL teacher I can also help you with your English if necessary!
I welcome mature people with plenty of energy and love of all living things to give me a hand by working in the garden, helping with the animals and cleaning the house. While you are with us you will be part of the family, and we hope you will enjoy meals, conversation, wine and relaxation with us in the evenings, as well as working hard during the day.. My house is surrounded by open countryside and there are interesting places to see within a few minutes drive. I am a quiet and peaceful artistic type who loves to read and create, but am also friendly and easy-going. I am a non-smoker who enjoys the occasional glass of wine and a convivial evening.

We are about a mile from Poullaouen, the nearest village, which is about ten miles from Carhaix-Plouguer. Poullaouen has all the usual amenities including a shop and a bar. We are also about 1hr from the coast to the west, north and south, and our house is not buried down the end of a long and winding road as so many are, but conveniently positioned about 5 miles from the N164 and D764 main roads. It is however extremely quiet and peaceful. If you have your own car there is plenty of space to park it. Public transport is limited. The roads are good for cycling.

I am looking for mature individuals who are traveling either alone or as a couple, who are looking for a remote, quiet location without many other people around. I repeat again - there is nothing to do in the immediate vicinity except to enjoy nature. Ideally I need one person to keep the house clean (vacuuming, washing floors, dusting, cleaning windows etc...), go shopping with me, occasionally cook and help walk the dogs. I need another person who will help with care of the chickens (which includes cleaning out the little barn, replenishing food and water, and collecting eggs) take care of the garden as if it were their own, and help out with odd jobs. Garden jobs will vary depending on the season. In summer there is more grass-cutting, weeding, bramble and nettle control and so on. In winter, indoor jobs take priority, such as painting and decorating. Projects which our helpers have completed include building a rustic composting fence, putting up shelves, taking care of chickens, weeding the vegetable garden, cutting lawns with a ride-on tractor, strimming, pruning trees, mending gates and fences etc...
I would appreciate your help with washing up after meals and although I don't expect you to cook, it is possible there might be days when lunch would be "help yourself" style, with bread, cheese, salad etc. There is always plenty of wine and beer to drink as well as freely available mineral water, tea, coffee etc.
As well as a mixture of jobs to do, you will have a lot of free time to relax as you wish.
Couples would be welcome and if one were to work in the house and the other outside it could be a good arrangement.

Singles have a brand-new independent mini-apartment with an ensuite shower room in the converted longere. Couples have my luxury motorhome to stay in. Bathroom in the house. I provide a cooked dinner at night, a sit-down lunch and breakfast makings are available for you to choose from. You're welcome to share my kitchen. Reasonable use of washing machine and drier. There is free unlimited internet access throughout the property but do not allow use of iPad or phone at meal times or in company. I feel this necessary but intrusive technology should be kept in the private domain.

This opportunity is for people who primarily want to experience solitude and peace and quiet in the depths of the Breton countryside. It is best if you come with transport - preferably a car but a bike is better than nothing, so you can explore your surroundings. It is also an opportunity to do some manual work, which many people have lost touch with recently. It offers a real retreat from city life. Many days can go by here without you seeing a soul. You will have time to read, walk, think, do nothing, watch the stars and listen to the owls, and get away from the frantic pace of life so many of us are trapped by these days. I would prefer it if you don't spend every spare moment on the Internet (as some people have done!)
As a native English speaker and a former teacher, I can help anyone wishing to improve their English.
I love to cook and all our meals are cooked organically from scratch with no additives. We eat relatively little meat, so vegetarians are welcome.
Your experience of Breton life will be mainly within our hamlet, where you will find herds of peaceful milking cows, chickens and a wide variety of wildlife all around. Our neighbours are all quiet people, but friendly if you come across them. If you want, you can seek out cultural experiences (music, dancing) in nearby towns such as Carhaix and Huelgoat, and in Poullaouen there is weekly Breton dancing. There are frequent "Fest Noz" events, when folk music and dancing takes place and of course there are restaurants, bars and pubs the same as everywhere in France. You have to look for these things by contacting the local tourist office.
You will also be able to enjoy walking or cycling in the clean fresh air of the most westerly of French departments, Finistere.
I prefer people not to use their phones or iPads at the dining table or otherwise during the day, and ask that surfing etc be done in the privacy of your own room.

If you apply, I need good feedback on your profile or access to another source of reference.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use