Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 50843
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1,7
Persons: several
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50843
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 30, 2018

GGooood morning everyone :-) !!! Who wants to do some peaceful gardening ??? :-) :-) :-)

We are several people living in a very old stone house on a piece of land in the lost french countryside (nature is amazing around here, you should pay a look ;-)). No big cities, no cars, no polution, only green grass, flowers, small trails, trees, farmers and animals... The house is several centuries old (probably the oldest of the village) with a stony old style wood bread hoven (to be restaured). The place has been inhabited since ... a very long time... and needs a bit of renovation (stone walls restauration, carpentry checking, electricity, plumbing,...) There is also a big field behind the house for growing all kind of plants (we will plant fruit trees this year, start the winter veggies, plant all kind of berries, aromatics, flowers, medicinal plants, etc...), so permaculture gardeners are very welcome !! We do everything organic and nature friendly.

Cooking skills are highly appreciated as well… Miam miam !!

EVERYBODY IS WELCOME as long as she/he has a super big motivation for doing things and learn together… People from all over the world, please, be welcome at my place !!! :-) :-) :-)

We are looking for physical and/or technical help with a bunch of different things (so everyone can find what fits with her/his mood of the moment, the idea is to be happy with the activity you are doing, always !!!)

Things to do are very miscellaneous : we will have to dig a trench for the water tubes (so that it is protected from winter time freeze), keep cleaning/fixing/improving the different shelters, put rain catchers, insolate the future work place and build tool devices, do the electricity inside the walls, break some old structures, move stones and dirt, create a new garden area, build a green house, weed the garden, tell jokes, play games, eat good food, smile, be alife, and even more :-) ...

There is a cosy collective dormitory upstairs with very confortable beds and clean blankets (just bring your sleeping bag), and a collective kitchen (fridge, gas stove, a wood stove to warm up a bit, etc...). Toilets are dry compost toilets (to be emptied twice a week...). There is a washing machine for your laundry (solar heated water). The confort is basic, don't expect anything fancy or like a modern house. Usually we are a team of 3 to 6 persons (+ two very cute friendly lady cats) sharing the different activities to be done and living together like in a community, we like to cook and eat together, organise tasks collectively, etc... We also enjoy some time together during days off with neighbours and friends, around a camp fire playing music, bring your games, your books, your music instruments, your paintings, your art !!...

There is light and electricity in the house. There is tap water but not inside the house (not installed yet, we bring water from outside with water cans), the shower is in the barn behind the house. The water is heated by the sun. A slow (but working :-) ) internet wifi/ethernet connexion is available inside the house.

Food is simple: cereals, veggies and fruits. Because life is simple: good food makes good mood, hurray!!! :-)

Animal products are not often on the collective menu (vegetarian and vegan friendly place).

We can teach you about plants and gardening (we have a tree nursery and can teach you how to graft and reproduce different kind of fruit trees, we can also teach you about veggies gardening if you are interested, we have had our own big garden the last 4 years and tried different experiments to learn about being veggy selfsuficient)

we are not specialists in building/construction but we have some skills and experience and would be happy to share knowledge with someone interested...

But maybe you can be the one teaching us something ?? :-)

Or we can just learn together by thinking and trying ?

We can also show you many alternative projects around my place, all our friends around are into a special life project and we are all connected to help each others like a big familly community...

We wish to host respectful open-minded people with happy mood and super big motivation for doing all kind of things together !!! :-) So if you want to give us a hand or two on this big project, meet travelers from other countries, speak 3 different languages at once, live a simple happy life in nature, this is the place for you my friend !!

Organisation of life and work :

So about our collective way of organising things, We usually just explain everything (from work, to where things are, how tools work, etc...) to every member of the temporary community and then let them self-organise as they want (days off, hours of work, collective life organisation, etc...). We sometimes work all together when there is a big work to do (it feels nicer rather than being super slow alone, hé hé), but also it is nice when everyone can find his/her prefered activity amongst the list of things to do. We also personnaly sometimes have some things to do related to our local life (administrative papers, help a neighbour, buy stuff,...) so we are not always with the group (but often enough, don't worry, ha ha, at least we eat together and share some games). There is no special rules for collective life, the one feeling like cooking can prepare something for everybody, someone else can do the dishes. Keeping the house tidy is of course a good thing to do every once a while :-) If we encounter some problems we can just talk about it (everyone can take the initiative of a collective discussion if he/she feels it's needed, we like when people don't expect that only from us). The only rules are : we don't eat animal products, we don't smoke inside the house, we do our best so that everyone can feel safe and happy... mmm and that's it i guess :-)

Let us know if you have some special food requierment and we'll try to do our best

The cats are living outside the house, they don't go in the dormitory...

We always try to include our hosts in the social life around. So if we go to some events, visit some neighbours or friends, we may propose you to join us (if possible of course) so that you can discover other places (alternative communities) and meet the nicest local people. Every alternative place here is connected with others, we are like a big community made of small communities. We help each others, exchange things, etc... It is important for us that you can see that also and not just my small place lost in the middle of nowhere...

How to get to our place :

Buses map and time schedule : just google the words "bus" and "creuse" and the first website comming is the one you need !!!

RideShare/Carpooling : just google the words "blablacar" or "covoiturage-libre" and it's the first website comming

Train : just google the words "voyage" and "sncf" and it's the first website comming

Depending on when you arrive from, you should get to the City MONTLUCON or GUERET (if you are comming by plane from another country, big cities around are LIMOGES and CLERMONT FERRAND), from there i will explaine you how to get to my place.

Around the place :

The house is located 4 km from a bigger village (post office, bar, restaurant, supermarket, mediatek, ...)
Nature around is very nice, forests, fields with cows, many rivers and streams, lacs to swim in, old style french farmers, communities and alternative projects everywhere, music festival, movies, art show, etc...

Items to bring : (it is just a suggestion of course)

Here is a list of things that you may find usefull to bring with you :

- A sleeping bag (i have blankets for you if you need)
- At least two sets of good working clothes (so that they can dry without you being naked...)
- Good water resistant working shoes
- Gloves (if not i have some for you but i don't guaranty the size and cleanness...)
- A head lamp (to have a wee outside at night...)
- Organic bio-degradable soap, shampoo and toothpaste (there is no sewer or main drainage so everything goes in the nature)
- Some games, books, music instruments, etc

International library :

The idea is to offer the possibility for every people visiting to find books in as many différent languages as possible. The collection is small at the moment (less than 50 books, and maybe 10 différent languages) but you can help making it bigger. The idea is that every person traveling through my place can bring a book he/she likes in his/her own language and leave it there for the next travelers. So it is not an obligation of course, but if you like this idea and if you want to sustain this international library, please bring books with you :-) !!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use