Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 51271
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Maungaturoto
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 20
Persons: 1-2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 51271
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 3, 2017

Juleigh is originally from the UK and Pete is Kiwi. Our farm is just outside the village of Maungaturoto (7 mins by car) about 2 hours north of Auckland. The village has a couple of nice cafes. Beautiful swimming and surf beaches are about 30 minutes drive away. We have had the farm for just over 2 years and put in a great deal of hard work to change it from a scruffy uncared for piece of land to something we are increasingly proud of! There are gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside from many parts of the farm. There are some acres of protected native bush. We live “off the grid” which means we get our water from the sky and our power from the sun, so we conserve both as much as possible( so don’t expect to use hairdryers or other high use electrical items).
We farm a small herd of beef cattle, we have lots of fruit trees and we are now seeing what vegetables grow well here. In the summer months if we have enough produce we will sell it at farmers markets nearby. We have chickens, ducks and a friendly cat.
We would love to host people who enjoy a quiet life and are not afraid of hard work. There are opportunities for gardening, wood clearing, planting, mowing, harvesting the fruit in summer and generally helping out. As we are slowly renovating our house there might be something to do there too. Some of the things we need to do are weather dependent so the hours to help will vary but are likely to be between 3 and 5 hours a day.
It's good if you have your own transport as there are lovely places to visit in the area.
Juleigh provides delicious food ( we are not vegetarian but can provide vegetarian meals) and we have a comfortable caravan for you to sleep in with access to the bathroom in our house. Two friends or a couple is ideal, though we are happy to host a single person.
If you have any allergies like bees stings or hayfever for which you use medication MAKE SURE YOU BRING IT!!
If you wish to drink alcohol in the evenings please provide your own, and bring your own snacks too if you want extra things to eat outside of mealtimes.
We do have internet but it is limited so no downloading!.
Non- smokers only. No recreational drug use on the property
We have now hosted 3 times and all have been very enjoyable, we have met some lovely people, and look forward to doing so again. At the moment we would like to host for 2 or 3 days at a time, usually between Saturdays and Wednesdays although this is flexible. We look forward to hearing from you. Please email me with any questions.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use