help exchange   Host 51300
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Quesnel
All Year: maybe
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 51300
Region: BC, Northern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 25, 2019

We are looking for assistance in 2020 and onward. Read on and email me

Do you want to try something a little bit different? Something that takes as its target great food and the pleasures of the table?

We are foodies far from the centres and trying to help create a culture of great food around us: for ourselves and for our friends. We are also trying to make that happen as much as is possible using local foods, neighbour's offerings, and our own produce. That is where we hope you will assist us, working with me in the gardens to keep their abundance coming AND bringing your creativity to the kitchen.

Do you spend as much or more time talking about food as you do eating it? When you try a new recipe, is the post-game analysis as much of a thrill as the try-outs? Do you agonize over whether kosher salt is an acceptable alternative to fleur de sel? Are your memories of travel as much consumed by the meals you ate as the sights you saw or the things you did? Are times you spent mucking around in the kitchen favorite remembrances regardless of how the final result sucked? If you said YES to any of those questions then you are a bona fide FOODIE!

If you want to get a full taste of a rural lifestyle; if you want to garden, build things and learn new skills in cooking, canning and baking; if you want to do all this at a relaxed pace far from the city and its distractions then our petite auberge, might be the place for you. And yes, you will get to eat marvelous meals.

Jenn spent her career as chef in fine dining restaurants and works to recapture the thrill. Something new is always happening in her kitchen either for the market, for our guests or sometimes just for us (and maybe you.) Bruce is a retired industrial forester recruited as sous-chef to Jenn’s insidious intentions. He is also chief labourer, carpenter and general dogs’-body for the plan. You could join our team and worry if we have enough pansy's to garnish the velouté.

This is a place that keeps heading in several directions at once. We have ornamental and veggie gardens, offer a BnB, host dinner parties and brunches emphasizing fine dining, hold cooking classes, grow, can, preserve and sell products. We are 20 minutes outside of our little town and hours from the nearest city. We are not a farm and definitely not a business; mark us down as hobbyists who have let their want-to-dos grow too large for their able-to-dos. The exchange we offer will let you dabble in all those things alongside us, about half outside; half in.

We are seeking assistance from early August and October and beyond now. In our growing season your primary work will be keeping the gardens lush but you will also be called on to assist in woodwork, construction and general maintenance. You will assist in harvest, processing, canning, drying, fermenting, preserving and storing seasonable abundance; increasing the life of the food we grow or acquire. Your work will be a key in making sure we have a continuous supply of product to centre our meals around. You may not be expected to help prepare the foods we serve to guests but, if you want to assist after your main work is done, you will learn from an expert. We host one or more fine-dining dinners each week; if you assist in preparation and/or serving, you share in the gratuities. Regardless, you will be expected to take your share of tasks getting family meals ready. Note: we are not vegetarian and would hesitate to invite someone who is due to the added complexity.

Incidentally, we are remote only in the sense that there is no major city nearby and no mobile phone service or broadcast television. We have gas in the kitchen, satellite internet and Wi-Fi and pretty well every other on-grid service. All of our interns so far have been able to keep in contact family and friends using Skype or a similar application. We have no livestock but if you like to ride there are many around us that keep extra horses and could offer you a mount.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use