Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 51500
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 51500
Region: Christchurch

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 14, 2018

Here is a little bit of background about me and the business:

I have been around horses from the age of about 6 so have 34 years worth of experience with them and have combined some of what I learnt in the early days (through the traditional English method) with all I have picked up from the Natural style which I have been learning for around the past 13 years.

About 8 years ago I set up my own business using Natural Horsemanship to train horses and teach people how to be with our equine friends. I have a base close to Christchurch and a small team of horses/ponies which are available for people to use who donít have access to their own. I am also available for those with their own horses to teach/train either at their own paddock or back at my base. I offer a variety of services from breaking in or starting horses through to basic pony rides, lessons, clinics, pony pals club and more. I have a passion for this style of being with these amazing creatures and love to share what I have learnt with anyone that wants to know about it!!!

I can offer you my experience with horses, tuition in Natural Horsemanship and accommodation in exchange for your work as well as flexible work hours. Please note that food is to be organised by you and will not be provided during your stay. You are welcome to use the fridge/freezer/cupboards/pantry to store anything you buy and anything in the kitchen as well as the washing machine/dryer also anything in the communal areas of the house. You will need to do a minimum of 12 hours per week per person to cover your accommodation and anything over that you are welcome to use for lessons/riding. The first day you are with me will be an orientation day learning the routine and how to do things and you do not gain hours. From the second day onwards you will earn hours towards accommodation/riding and will be doing more things on your own.

The main tasks will be daily horse care including feeding, picking up poo, cleaning water troughs, moving portable fences, general paddock maintenance, helping with group lessons as needed as well as other things at the paddock as they come up. There is also the chance to help with the office work if you wanted too.

I rent the paddocks where the horses are kept and have a reasonably small country cottage about 5 mins drive away (from the paddocks) in the nearby township of Lincoln. It is a 2 bedroom cottage and I rent the second room in the house out for extra income however I can offer you your own private space/room in the garage (this room has just been renovated as well as furnished). Unlimited internet access. I can transport you to the horse paddocks or you are welcome to go independently using your own transport.

You are welcome to start as soon as you want to and the length of stay is over to you, you can make it as short or as long as you like, however it is helpful for me if you can give an indication of when you plan to arrive and your length of stay i.e. one week, two weeks, one month, etc.

When staying with me you must have a current appropriate visa to work in NZ i.e. work or working holiday visa. I have the right to ask to view this at any point while you are with me.

Doing the work at the horse paddocks I am looking for people who want to learn, are hardworking, honest, reliable, enjoy being outside whatever the weather and don't mind doing physical work. When at my house I am looking for people who have the ability to respect my flatmate, essential to tidy up your dishes and anything used after every meal, to keep the house tidy and be security conscious. You will be working on jobs on your own some of the time, particularly at the horse paddocks, so an ability to be able to do this would be helpful as well as seeing a job through from start to finish. You do not necessarily need to have experience working with horses but a love of this amazing creature is essential.

I have a dog called Zoe who is a border collie, a cat called Maddie and 2 chickens who I haven't named yet so you will get to meet them too when staying with me. They are all very friendly, well mannered and enjoy having extra human company.

If you would like to find out more please feel free to visit my website or if you have any questions/queries donít hesitate to get in touch with me.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use