Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 51528
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Lajes das Flores
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 6
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 51528
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 30, 2018

**April/May 2018 - help required with animals/vegetable garden/building projects**

For April and May, we urgently need people to help us get the summer planting done, take care of our animals and land and provide some help for building projects. Its fine if you are new to building as long as you are willing to try new things, we would prefer it if you have some experience growing vegetables so that you can do things like weeding and planting without needing too much help. For later in the year, we really only are looking for people who have building skills, although that could change depending on how things go.

We are Pete and Anna, from the UK originally but we are living now on Ilha das Flores in Açores. We bought a small house and ruin with some land in September 2016 and we are building a house from the ruin and making a permaculture garden on our land to grow food for our family and guests.

Our place is in the village of Lomba on Ilha das Flores, which is in the western group of the Azores archipelago. The island is called the island of flowers and for good reason! It is a small and very beautiful island full of nature in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. In the village we have a bar with free Wi-Fi and a bakery. There is a bus to both of the towns on the island from here twice a day where you can go to the supermarket and bars. There is lots of hiking and camping to do on the island - if you love nature this is a great place to be.

We like to cook and eat together with our volunteers at mealtimes, everybody can contribute something to a meal even if it is only conversation or washing the pot. We don't have a car so you will need to arrange your own transportation to/from the airport, there are buses during the week, taxis, car hire companies and it is easy to hitchhike here.

We have vegetable gardens and animals (chickens, sheep, guinea pigs, dogs & cats) that always require attention, but our primary need is for someone to help us with building projects.

Our building projects for this year include, finishing the renovation of a small barn into a conservatory, re-roofing and creating a semi-outdoor kitchen, stabilising an eroding bank, groundworks and drainage for a future ruin renovation, re-doing a leaking terrace, making a bathroom and lots more!

This year we are really only looking for people who are already skilled in at least one of the areas we are working on, although we are open to people trying new things while they are here and if you have skills I havent mentioned that you want to share that you think would be useful to us (for example maybe you are a carpenter who likes making furniture) then let's talk about that too. Depending on your skills and needs we are happy to be flexible about working hours etc to create an arrangement that everyone is happy with.

I'm sorry but we have recently quit smoking so are not able to accommodate volunteers who smoke as the temptation is simply too high!

We have electricity and WiFi available. We have running cold water from an outside tap. We use compost toilets and if you want a hot shower you need to heat water and wash outside. We dont have a washing machine so you will need to do any laundry by hand.

While you are working we like to cook and prepare meals together, when you are not working we prefer volunteers to be more independent at times (but we will at minimum provide you with ingredients to cook with on your days off even if we dont cook for you/eat with you). We are not vegetarian but are happy to accommodate your dietary needs, though you should be aware that we do raise animals for meat production.

The accommodation on offer is a tent situated in the area where we graze our sheep about 5 minutes walk from our house. We ask that you bring your own bedding. If there is a bad storm then it is possible for you to sleep on the floor in our house instead. We are very open to a medium - long term stay if it suits everyone, so if you wanted to build a more permanent shelter that would be OK too.

Our dogs and cat are part of our family and wander freely on site. We only use biodegradable soaps and detergents and ask that you do the same as much as possible.

We are very happy to share our knowledge about permaculture, animal care and eco-building with you! Also if you want to improve your English language we can help you with this. We would love to practice our Portuguese too if you speak this language. We love Flores and are happy to help you out in exploring and enjoying this beautiful island.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use