Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 51750
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: Up to 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 51750
Region: Southland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 14, 2018

Sorry we are not available for Helpx Hosting as currently hosting exchange students.

We live 8km North of Invercargill, in Southland, and are currently doing up parts of our large, older, house, gardens and just about the whole property over time.

We would love help from anyone who can help with painting, sanding, stripping wallpaper, Tiling, building, (inside or out) pulling up carpet or general small farm work like weed spraying, firewood, gardening, digging ditches, and always gathering horse poo, etc etc.

Right now we have a hallway that needs wallpaper stripped before being skim-coated and firewood to be cut, split and stacked.

We are flexible with work hours/days but would expect it to average at 4-5hrs per day per person, in return for accommodation and meals.

Depending on your travel wishes and length of stay you might prefer to work a couple of full days so you can have full days off to see all that Southland has to offer, or maybe base yourself here to visit the Catlins, Stewart Island or Milford Sound.

We cook the evening meals (which you are welcome to help with cooking or cleanup) but would ask that you organize your own breakfast and lunch from the food provided. Usually we have sandwiches or simple food at lunchtime. Cereal or toast for breakfast.

We have Miniature Horses, ponies and cattle plus 4 cats

Our children are now adults but still live at home along with our young granddaughter.

We are a non-smoking drug-free family, and ask the same of our helpers.

Accommodation is in the house with us and the rooms are a good size. (Not renovated yet).

We have found that it is easier for our helpers if you have your own vehicle. This is so you can make the most of your free time exploring our beautiful region, but don't let this put you off contacting us.

If any of this sounds like you, we'd love to hear from you.

We have been police vetted many times for hosting foreign exchange students from America, Thailand, and Japan plus several Kiwis.

If you have any questions please email us and I'll answer everything I can. All emails will be answered but may be a bit slow as I'm not always available.

Please do not txt or phone me as I don't accept anyone without checking their profile and discussing what work we have that might suit each helper, before deciding to host.

Thanks heaps and enjoy your time in New Zealand!

Steve and Mina

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use