Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 51899
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Collingwood area
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): big
Persons: 1or2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 51899
Region: Golden Bay

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 16, 2018

Hey there, we are a young family of 5 living away from it all in the native bush of the west coast of Golden Bay. We live off the grid in a solar powered, self-built light earth house. Lars is a beekeeper and when not out with the bees he is busy with building and landscaping projects.
Suzi's focus is on the home and the children 8, 4 and 2. We have vegetable gardens, lots of fruit trees, chickens, continuous building and landscaping projects, and we are homeschooling the oldest girl, so heaps to do!

4 hours of help in exchange for meals and accommodation.
We also expect help with doing the dishes or preparing meals. Most of the food we eat is organic. We eat meat once a week. Our focus is mainly on fresh, healthy vegetarian food.

Our showers are semi-outdoors and bucket composting toilet. It's not for fussy people.
Your accomodation is a shipping container converted to a comfortable, private and self contained living space, a short distance from the main house.

This is a remote location, suited to nature lovers, DIY and family life. There's some cool hiking tracks and beautiful beaches around. It would be easiest if you have your own transport, but not essential. We normally go to Takaka (1hr drive) for supplies once a week.
Because we are on limited solar power, we need to be aware of our power consumption, so leave your electrical toothbrush at home:)


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use