Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 51937
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Adelaide
All Year: Yes, except May- June
Area (ha): 11
Persons: 1 or 2 if share
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 51937
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 31, 2018

Available from February 20 - March 20

In February - March looking for 1-2 people to help mainly with pruning, and general summer clean up.
We are also looking for a person with carpentry and building skills to help complete a verandah building project.
Hours: maximum 20 hours/week mainly working along with us on weekends and one other day, leaving other days and evenings free for relaxation.
Prefer 1-2 week stays initially, but happy to extend if its working out for everyone.
We have now hosted German, Flemish, French and Chinese people and enjoy the company and conversation.
This is a specialist Pick-Your-Own cherry orchard in the scenic Adelaide Hills. It is only 20 minutes from central Adelaide, and 45 minutes from Adelaide Airport. There is native bush near the cherries, and you may see a koala near the packing shed.
It is a family run small farm. Owners are in the 60's, and mainly do most of the work themselves. Our children come back and help out too.
Accommodation: Our guest bedroom (see Photo, except now its painted white), own bathroom, use of house.
Food: Share Dinners, self serve breakfast and weekday lunches (we will need guidance on what food you like to eat). We respect halal, vegan and vegetarian, but we have traditional Australian diet.

Transport to the city:
Its easier if you have a car, but we can drop you at the nearest bus stop to the city (about 10 minutes drive and then a 25 minute bus ride to the city) and pick you up as long as its before 11pm.

Farm jobs during year:
mowing - ride on mower and brushcutter
planting
Cleaning house during December cherry season (not hard, just necessary)
Spring clean/re-paint the cherry sales area ready for December
helping build and paint sheds,
February- April pruning and orchard maintenance
removing rubbish and fallen trees
preparing for fire season - clearing excess growth around the house
removing weeds from native bush
chainsawing, if you have certificate.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use