Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 51994
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Oct/Nov
Area (ha): 100
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 51994
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 7, 2016

We’re a family of farmers - Gareth, Tonia, Ida and Leo the dog.

We live on an organically certified dairy and grain farm with Tonia's parents, and her brothers' family.

We look after the cropping on the farm and are in the process of setting up the retailing of the grains, with a farmer's market stall in the plans, and a grain mill on the way from Austria. We've also just obtained an oil press which we're hoping to use for linseed.

We're after helpers with real farming experience (not just volunteering). We're just heading into the very busy time of getting seeds into the ground and those with tractor driving experience would be very welcome. We expect around four hours of work per day from our guests.

We have renovated two rooms of the original farmhouse, sharing the kitchen of the main house, where we all take turns cooking and share vegetarian meals.

We have a couple of vegie gardens and grow most of our own garden produce, the dairy side of the business includes the production of cheese, cream and yoghurt so we eat very well!

Helpers stay in the spare room in our house, coming down to the main house for meals. The toilet for our place is a work in progress so we use the one in the main house in the meantime, and we have an outdoor gas shower outside our house for us and guests.

We ask that all helpers have insurance to cover them while volunteering with us.

No smoking indoors please.

Families welcome!

Pickup can be arranged from Deloraine, Devonport and Launceston.

We have lovely bushwalks and beaches within 45 mins drive and Cradle Mountain is 90 minutes away.

Pets negotiable.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use