Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 52129
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ayton/Bloomfield River
All Year: No
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 52129
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 22, 2018

Small family property in the beautiful World Heritage Wet Tropics region in Far North Queensland, 3 & 1/2 hours drive north of Cairns at the mouth of the Bloomfield River. There is crocodile spotting on the river, fishing and swimming in local freshwater creeks and swimming holes (no crocs), Weary Bay Beach and fresh coconuts for drinking and eating! We have wifi and mobile phone reception. Free Yoga tuition is available from a qualified teacher.

We grow fruit, and veges using organic, biodynamic methods and preparations. We have chickens and 1 dog, Hector. Accommodation for helpers is a large 2 room canvas tent pitched in a new very large shed with high roof and no walls (very cool). Bathroom is at the house. Helpers have some cooking facilities or can share house kitchen. Helpers are expected to clean up after themselves.

We need help with gardening including weeding fertilizing, mulching, making biodynamic compost, and planting fruit trees, cooking if you can cook, cleaning and odd jobs around the house always need doing. We eat healthy fresh food, meat and locally caught fish,and fresh veges and fruit. We can provide any other foods which helpers require. We usually rest in the heat of the day and only work in the cool times or in the shade.

Our place would suit people who are interested in organic and biodynamic gardening/farming and who are not addicted to their mobile phones. We use chemical free products in the bathroom laundry and kitchen to keep the waste water system happy. We are looking for 1 or 2 helpers from 20th September to 3rd October and around 10th October for a few weeks. We can be a bit flexible with dates.

The property belongs to my son and his partner and we all come and go according to work and other commitments. Other helpx opportunities are sometimes available with our neighbours.

I can possibly give you a ride up and/or back or there is a bus from Cairns to Bloomfield every second day which returns the next day for $64 one way. It's important to us that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our place.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use