Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 52131
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Spring, Summer, Autumn
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: Single or Couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 52131
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 12, 2016

This is a small market garden producing vegetables and herbs. We used to sell the produce at local farmers markets, but now it is used for catering work only (and for us to eat too!).

The vegetable garden is well established and we have a small flock of chickens. We are in the process of establishing a couple of small orchards, building a shed and a greenhouse.

Work is mainly gardening (weeding, mulching, irrigation repairs, planting, propagation, digging paths, making compost, wipper snippering etc.). Occasionally, there may be other seasonal jobs too, wood chopping, harvesting and preserving, killing and processing chickens etc. or building/maintenance type work, depending on your skills/interests and what is needed at the time. We're looking for help for about 5 hours per day, in exchange for accommodation and meals.

We are a couple in our 30s and a lovely little cat. The house is very nice and cosy, warm in winter and cool in summer. You would sleep in a private room with a double bed, and the bathroom is shared (and has a large bath and a washing machine). We like delicious food, playing music, sewing, computer games, relaxing in the garden and are open to new things. We don't have a TV in the house, but we do have good WiFi. We eat mostly vegetarian meals, with meat or fish once or twice a week. We can easily accommodate vegans, vegetarians and people with more complex dietary requirements.

We're looking for people who are friendly, kind and interested in gardening. Smokers are welcome but please smoke away from the house. No pets unfortunately.

Malmsbury is a pretty small town, there is a beautiful botanical garden, a bakery and a few cafes and restaurants. There is a lot to do in the region if you have a car (bushwalking, swimming, vineyards, markets, gorgeous old towns). If you don't have your own car, the train station is just a few minutes walk from the house. Melbourne is close enough for a day trip, and the nearest large towns are Kyneton, Castlemaine and Daylesford.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use