Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 52339
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Moosbach
All Year: all year
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 52339
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 7, 2018

No more helpers needed this year because of former helpers revisiting :)

Hi, my name is Sylvia and I'm Dutch. After having lived for the majority of my life in cities I wanted to roam around with Helpx, so I did. I fell in love with the first place where I stayed, many years ago. A very small rural village in Bavaria, Germany, at the Czech border. I rented the huge house and intend to stay here, with my little dog, for the rest of my life.

It’s a beautiful hilly area and the forests invite for long walks in which you may spot deer and boars and other animals. Public transport ends in Weiden (train) or Lohma (bus), but I have a car, can pick you up and drop you off. Plenty to see within reasonable distance like Nürnberg, Regensburg, München, and Prague. Ski and snowboard center at 7 km distance and lots of others a bit further away. In the holiday season, Christmas markets can be found everywhere.

You will have your own room (with wifi) and a shared bathroom, and you are welcome to the rest of the house too. I‘ll try to cook for you what you like as long as you don´t follow a special diet. I'm easy going and laid back. You can stay over if you have both a health insurance and a liability insurance (because of requirements from my landlord). I also need to take a pic of your ID to avoid any problems.

Because I cook and heat the house with firewood, I need to make sure I have enough wood in storage. The wood needs to dry for at least a year to be usable. We can gather the wood in the nearby forest. We use a professional log splitter and conveyor. My neighbour cuts the trees down. He saws these into 1-meter logs. These need to be split and stacked onto a wagon to take home, where the wood is machine sawed into small pieces. With the conveyor, the pieces are stacked to dry (see pictures).

A couple of weeks of work in winter are enough to gather the wood I need for a whole season. We are however dependent on the weather to be able to go out and get it. It’s not hard work, but because I‘m not as fit as I used to be I could use your help with this. I can not stress enough that you’ll need a warm coat and sturdy shoes. Ideal weather is dry with frost and little wind. Then the tractor can drive in the woods. The working hours will be depending on the neighbour‘s work shift, but either 4 hours in the morning or afternoon for 5 days a week. If we can go in the woods on a weekend day (about 7 hrs) you can take time off on another day. If the weather is awful or the firewood work finished there are always odd jobs in the house like some paintwork or decorating. When it´s not freezing the work will be mainly in the bio square foot vegetable garden, and in and around the house.

You can stay a week, or two, or longer if there are good vibrations. I speak Dutch, English, German and rusty French and for all other languages, we’ll use hands and feet and Google too.

Hope to hear from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use