Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 54009
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 32
Persons: 2 or more
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54009
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 16, 2017

ABOUT US: We are a friendly family based in Doreen, a semi rural area on the northeast fringe of Melbourne. We are living in the busy and pleasant housing estate ‘Laurimar’ a little township with shops, cafes, walkable connections, parks, and easy public transport to Melbourne city and suburbs whilst developing our nearby farm where we will eventually be building our off grid ‘architectural-eco’ house. Our farm is just a few kilometres from the urban fringe but a world apart with an incredibly peaceful ambience and all sorts of Australian nature including kangaroos, wombats and wedge tailed eagles. The farm is in an early stage of development with a number of different programs under construction or planned including a native bush foods orchard, chestnut silvopasture, herb gardens, laying poultry, and cattle.

We are a friendly family with three kids, a 5 year old who just started school next year, a year old baby, and a seventeen year old at art school. We also have a small friendly shaggy dog and two horses on the farm. Sarah is an Australian landscape architect/farmer, Jim is a British railway engineer.

Accomodation is a double bedroom (one double bed) in our family house. All meals provided. Dinner is usually eaten together, food is provided for lunch and breakfast which you make yourself. We appreciate assistance preparing and/or tidying up after shared meals.

Work is 4 hours per day 5 days per week, typically in the house three days per week and on the farm 2 days per week. Weekends free. Flexibility possible. Tasks will vary depending on your skills and preferences but typically include:

*Housekeeping (vacuuming, tidying, meal preparation, cleaning and laundry). If you like to cook that is a great bonus!
*Manual work on the farm such as digging, animal care, weed removal, planting, simple construction and fencing. Support will be provided and there will be an opportunity to learn new practical and design skills for sustainable farming.
*Some babysitting / assistance with children.
*Possible opportunity to use your special skills (tell us what they are!).

References required. We prefer longer stays of two weeks or more (please outline your availability and plans).

Please note the appearance of the farm changes all year. In winter it is green and lush and in summer the grass is long and dry.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use