help exchange   Host 54122
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Reute
All Year: april to october
Area (ha): 3.5
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54122
Country: Switzerland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 29, 2019

**************************************************
This year we would like to welcome helpers during this periods:

Currently planning our activities

**************************************************


Hello

Help is needed in ecological house building, gardening and general housework. We are looking for motivated helpers from April to October for about two-week stays. We expect half day of work, 4 hours a day, weekend off. Schedule may vary depending to the work needs and weather conditions.

We are a family of three, Isabel, Uli, and our son Isidro, age 8. We live in the district of Appenzell, Switzerland with a beautiful view of the Rhein Valley and the Austrian and Swiss mountains. We speak fluent German and Italian and some French, English, Czech and a bit of Spanish.

Our old farmhouse burned down in 2007; however, we started in 2013 with the construction of a new house, with a focus of using natural local materials such as wood, wool and clay. Since August 2016 we have been living in the house, however, it is still a work in progress. Our friends laugh and joke that it is “the best furnished construction site they have ever seen”.

We also started cultivating the garden (synergistic garden) and working the land. Next, we would like to start with back-yard animal husbandry, raise chicken and perhaps ducks. “Organic Farmstay" is still a long way off but we are on getting closer to this goal every day. In future, we would love to use the house for workshops and symposiums, where people can meet, share ideas and enjoy our homegrown organic food.

We will provide you a bedroom with beautiful view.
Bathroom, livingroom and kitchen is shared, so a little family involvement will be inevitable.
We are happy to share breakfast, lunch and dinner with you. We are not vegetarian but we eat rarely meat and mostly cook organic food. We enjoy new experiences, so knowledge of vegan cooking is welcome as well as traditional dishes from your home country.

We will enjoy helping you explore the local area and provide travel suggestions within Switzerland. It is a great location for nature, hiking and cycling. There is a bus stop next to our house and a train station about 4 km away, so you can travel quite easy by public transportation.

If you would like to help us with our new family farm, please email us your interest and availability. We are looking forward to meet nice people from all around the world!

Hope to see you soon
Isabel and Uli


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use