help exchange   Host 54141
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oamaru
All Year: All year
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 54141
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 8, 2018


I live close to the center of Oamaru, but the house has a country feel. It's quiet and you wake up to the sound birds and, at lambing time, sheep. Its an old railway workers cottage with a tin roof, claw foot bath and and a coal range, which I still cook on.

Right now I want to tidy up the (organic) garden. That mostly means laying down cardboard and leaves to keep the weeds down and regenerate the soil. There is also firewood to put into sacks and bring up the path too. So the work is pretty physical, and you will need to be ready and willing to put that effort in. Inside I am finishing stripping paint off the old doors and shelves in the kitchen, and sanding them down, and I need help with that too.

In exchange I offer nice accommodation, ultrafast broadband, and good coffee and homemade bread. Sadly right now I am too poor to offer food as well, but you are welcome to veges from the garden.

Ideally I want people for a round three to five days or so.

I am a male, late fifties, and I work in a bookshop.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use