Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 54211
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Co Mayo
All Year: Spring/Summer/Autumn
Area (ha): 4 Acres
Persons: 1 to 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 54211
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 25, 2017

*UPDATE!! We are currently actively looking for a couple/individual to help for 1 week period in the garden/polytunnell weeding, strimming ectr and to help Dara get one of the outside cabin ready to let for the summer, all meals provided*

The Hermatige is a 25minute drive from Westport behind Croagh Patrick Mountain at the foot of the Sheefry hills. There is around 4 acres of land including a poly tunnel and garden that is quite boggy but we would like to add raised beds to make it vegetable friendly, there is a a small orchard, a field of wild bog and areas claimed by brambles and wild willow trees. It is remote and beautiful. To get to The Hermatige you go down a small lane and cross a bridge. (Can flood!) You can see the back of Croagh Patrick. It is a beautifull and magical feeling place.

Dara and I bought the place last year and are doing up some of the buildings ourselves, I am currently in a process of discovery and learning permaculture values and trying to apply this, so people with an understanding of The principles of permaculture are particularly welcome!
A bit about the gaff.....
The Hermitage was built by a nun, Sister Irene in the 1990's. She built it with donations and support from local people with the hope of it being a place for women nuns to go and live a reclusive and holy lifestyle. Sister Irene left here and it was in a state of disrepair for around 9 years until it was taken on by Paul and Amina who did a lot of work in the grounds and used the church hall as a meditation space. There is a documentart about Sister Irene on youtube called "selling god's house" it's a bit sad.

We are looking for people, who are happy to spend time alone or in groups and are keen for a bit f hard graft in the Irish countryside with amazing ... Stunning views!! in a magical location. No special skills needed just enthusiasim and a passion for the outdoors.

The work we can offer will be simple - bits and bobs of weeding and general maintenance , we are also trying to do up some of the house for air-bnb'ing so anyone with building/DIY skills or just enthusiasm would be very welcome. There is painting that needs to be done aswell as chopping down trees, cutting wood and digging/clearing drains. A big job we need help with is clearing branches and chopping wood from some
Of the trees.

Accommodation is basic, an insulated cabin that sleeps up to four. We can provide warm bedding, duvets and sheets ectr, there is a toilet and hot shower. There is no internet or cooking facilities - however these are in our cottage which you are welcome to share of course!

Meals can be arranged depending on how much work you would like to do - we are happy to proide all meals/help yourself to fodo in the kitchen if you are up for really mucking in with work.

Ideally would like people to come for a week minimum, but whatever you can offer is welcome. I work in Castlebar and Dara in Westport so we will be able to give lifts in and out of town when we come and go. There is Internet and no phone signal so we use whatsapp to communicate - Internet is through a satellite so limited to basic communication!

Around here there is amazing walking around the area (we are on the western way walking path) and a surf beach about 30 mins from the Hermatige and 25 mins from Westport that I go to regularly where you can rent surfboards and wetsuits (or borrow mine!) we have a bike you can borrow (we could get anther if needed).

Dara and I will be coming for work and going and also do Airbnb in Westport so will not always be around, so if you are a lone helper you need to be someone happy with your own company, for thi sreason we are suggesting pairs of helpers.

We don't have any children but welcome helpers with kids and pets. We have three small friendly dogs.

We look forwards to meeting you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use