help exchange   Host 54479
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2 sharing
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54479
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 5, 2017

Not accepting helpers - farm has been completely burned in recent fires.

But travel companions are good - check my helper profile.


Originally from Ireland, i have travelled much of Europe as a HelpX Volunteer, Couchsurfer and hiker.
(Visit the weblinks above)

Now i have settled near Monte Frio in the mountains of Portugal with my own little farm, and i need a lot of help to restore it.

Type of work to be done:
- cleaning land
- rebuilding stone walls
- tidying/repair/rebuild ruin stone-house
- gardening, planting, making new beds
- growing native forest (cleaning and planting)
- helping at home (cooking/cleaning)
- playing with, walking & tiring out my dog
- starting my yoga/meditation routine

I try to do all things with permaculture ideals in mind - but i'm pragmatic about how to do things.

I have a little van for helpers to use as a bedroom on the farm - this will be basic living!
My van has the cooker, we have outside kitchen space and there is shade covered outdoor space.
Running water, dry toilet, hot solar shower etc basically its glorified camping.
You are also welcome to stay in your own tent if that's preferable to you.
There is space on the farm to park campervans - if you travel longterm in a vehicle you are welcome to stay as a neighbour without having to work with me.

I prefer if volunteers help with the cooking and general tidying - i will not be your chef :)

I offer a place to stay, food (shared vegetarian meals) and company in return for approx 20 hours work per week (typically 5hours a day for 4 days but can be flexible)
Other options are possible, just ask :)
** I work online part time so i will not always be on hand when you work - but i will explain everything to be done, its not difficult stuff. **

I am a strict vegetarian and so is the farm - if you desperately need meat/fish then the local cafe can serve your needs.
No drugs on-site except moderate alcohol/smoking.

Best if you can bring your own work clothes - sturdy boots, rain coat, trousers & top you don't mind getting v dirty and torn.
Though I do have some old clothes you can use - for ladies and gents :)

Pickup possible from :
- Santa Comba Dao if you come by train
- Catraia de Mouronho if you come by bus
(both from Coimbra/Porto/Lisboa)

It is quite remote here - no party night life in village, but the local cafe is a good way to experience Portuguese cuisine and culture.
Also we now have a little paddling pool in village to cool of in summer.
However, it is not a waste-land and there is an international community with local events we can attend in the greater area.

Nearest town is Coja with shops, cafes, river beach, pizzeria etc

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use